Video: Why Charlie Austin's goal for QPR from Joe Hart's pass was disallowed

Ed Ran
Joe Hart double touch QPR Austin goal
Manchester City goalkeeper Joe Hart explains how he touched the ball twice for the goal kick

During the 2-2 draw at Loftus Road on Saturday night, Queens Park Rangers striker Charlie Austin couldn’t believe his luck when Manchester City goalkeeper Joe Hart took a goal kick and passed the ball directly to him.

The 25-year-old Englishman then took a shot and put the ball into the back of the net as City’s defenders tried their best to stop him.

This was the second time Austin had scored after the first goal was ruled out for offside moments earlier. As he started celebrating, the referee Mike Dean disallowed the goal, much to the frustration of the QPR players and home support.

But replays showed that Hart had touched the ball twice when he took the goal kick. He first mistakingly tapped it forward with his left foot before kicking it with his right foot as the ball rolled away from him.

According to the laws of the game, in this instance, the goal kick is supposed to be retaken.

Law 13 – Free Kicks: The kicker must not touch the ball again until it has touched another player.

Hence, Austins’s goal did not stand.

Hart knew the rule, Austin didn’t see the double touch

Joe Hart said after the game: “I knew the rules and touched it twice. I'd touched it twice with my feet obviously. It's a mistake and not ideal but rules are rules.”

“I was looking at Mangala to pass to him because I was aware of Charlie and it hit my right foot and left foot and went straight to him,” he added.

Austin was not too impressed however and responded to the question on whether he saw the double touch.

“Didn't you see from my celebration? I turned around and no one was with me. When I looked back, everyone was around the ref.”

Hart explains the double touch to Robert Green and Austin after the game


Quick Links

Edited by Staff Editor
Be the first one to comment