Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

South Africa Four-Day Franchise Series 2019-20

19 Dec 2019 - 5 Apr 2020

The 4 Day Franchise Series is a first class cricket competition organised by Cricket South Africa, which is the apex body for cricket in South Africa. It was started in 1889-90 when cricket was started in South Africa and has undergone a number of changes since then.

Table of Contents

  1. Format
  2. Teams
  3. Points System

Over the years, this tournament has been called as the Castle Cup, Sunfoil Series and the Supersport Series as well. The 2019-20 edition of the tournament is scheduled to be played from October 2019 to April 2020, with some gaps to accommodate the international matches and other leagues as organised around the world.


The CSA 4 Day Franchise Series is played in 6 rounds and follows a double round robin format, with each team playing the other on two occasions — one at home and the other at away ground. Three matches begin on a single match day and all the international rules of Test matches are followed in the matches, except that the matches are of 4 days duration instead of five.


The South African 4 Day Series 2019-21 features 6 teams representing six different provinces of South Africa. The Cape Cobras represent the Western Cape province and the VKB Knights represent the Free State and the Western Cape region of South Africa. The Titans are the sole representatives of the Northern and the Eastern Gauteng region whereas the Hollywoodbets Dolphins represent the KwaZulu Natal province of South Africa. The Lions represent the Central Gauteng province and the Warriors represent the Eastern Cape region in tournament.

Points System

The teams are awarded 16 points for an outright win whereas a tied match fetches them 8 points. A draw match is worth 6 points and a loss fetches the team 0 points. Also, the teams are awarded with bonus points based on their play in the first 100 overs of the innings. 1 point is awarded for reaching 150 runs (0.02 points for each run thereafter) and also for taking 3 wickets (1 point for each 2 wickets thereafter).

Fetching more content...