Favorites Edit

Hockey India names 33 players for Junior Women's National Coaching Camp

Press Release
76   //    07 Jul 2019, 00:50 IST

Representational image
Representational image

New Delhi, 05 July 2019: Hockey India today named the 33 Core Probables list for the upcoming Indian Junior Women's National Coaching Camp scheduled to begin on Monday, 8th July 2019. Players will report to Coach Baljeet Singh Saini at the Sports Authority of India, Bengaluru Campus for a four-week National Coaching Camp that concludes on 3rd August 2019.

After having a great tour of Ireland, where the team won the Cantor Fitzgerald U21 International 4 Nations Tournament against the likes of the hosts Ireland, Canada and Scotland, Coach Baljeet Singh Saini also led his team for their Belarus Tour where they defeated the Junior and Development teams of the host nation, while producing a great fight against their Senior Women's team.

Coach Saini believes that the tour of Ireland and Belarus has motivated his team to become the best Junior team in the world. "The team performed exceptionally in our recent tours of Ireland and Belarus. I am very satisfied with the way they played, and this National Camp will now give us the opportunity to keep working in the right direction. There are a few players who have made the transition into the Senior team set-up, therefore this Camp will give the opportunity to more players to perform and be a part of our team," said Saini.

"Our focus in the upcoming Camp will be on our basics, fitness, agility and trying our different tactics. It is important that we maintain our rhythm in these four weeks, and keep building towards our ultimate aim which is to lift the Junior Women's Asia Cup next year," added Coach Saini.

The Goalkeepers who have been selected for the camp are Rashanpreet Kaur, Khushboo and F. Ramengmawii, while Priyanka, Simran Singh, Marina Lalramnghaki, Gagandeep Kaur, Ishika Chaudhary, Jotika Kalsi, Sumita, Akshata Dhekale, Usha and Parneet Kaur.

Midfielders Baljeet Kaur, Mariana Kujur, Kiran, Prabhleen Kaur, Preeti, Ajmina Kujur, Vaishnavi Phalke, Kavita Bagdi, Baljinder Kaur and Sushma Kumari have been called up, while the Forwards include Mumtaz Khan, Beauty Dungdung, Gurmail Kaur, Deepika, Lalrindinki, Jiwan Kishori Toppo, Rutuja Pisal, Sangita Kumari, Yogita Bora and Annu.