Favorites Edit

Indian Women's Hockey team


The Indian Women’s Hockey team is currently ranked 10th in the FIH Women’s World Rankings.


The team plays under the aegis of Hockey India which was formed in 2009.

The team’s earliest success was securing the gold medal in the 1982 Asian Games which was hosted by New Delhi.

However, the fourth placed finish at the 1980 Olympics is widely considered as the breakthrough of the team in the sport.


The Indian Women’s Hockey team has won one gold medal at the Commonwealth Games back in 2002. This is in addition to the 1982 Asian Games gold medal.

The team has also won gold medal at the Asian Champions Trophy once.

2018 World Cup Team

Coach: Sjoerd Marijne

1. Navjot Kaur

2. Gurjit Kaur

3. Deep Grace Ekka

4. Monika Malik

6. Reena Khokhar

8. Nikki Pradhan

11. Savita Punia

13. Rajani Etimarpu

16. Vandana Katariya

17. Deepika Thakur

18. Udita

19. Namita Toppo

20. Lalremsiami

25. Navneet Kaur

26. Sunita Lakra

28. Rani Rampal ©

31. Lilima Minz

32. Neha Goyal

India are placed in Pool B along with England, Ireland and United States at the 2018 FIH Women’s Hockey World Cup.

India are expected to make it to the playoffs if they do not top the group. Quarter-finals are a realistic target for the young team.

Fetching more content...