Indian Men's Hockey Team

Indian Men's Hockey Team

Full NameIndia Men's National Field Hockey Team

Nick NameMen in Blue, Bharat Army

Team Owner(s)Association - Hockey India

Prominent PlayersManpreet Singh (MF), Akashdeep Singh (FW), Harmanpreet Singh (DF)


Indian men’s national hockey team was the first Asian and Non-European men’s team to be a part of the International Hockey Federation since 1927. They are well-known for their sheer dominance in the Olympics between 1928 and 1956. The Indian men’s national hockey team won the bronze medal at Tokyo Olympics.

Indian hockey team competed under the British India flag from 1928 to 1936 Olympic Games before playing under the Indian national flag post-independence from 1948 onwards. They had produced some of the hockey greats like Major Dhyan Chand, Richard Allen, Balbir Singh Senior, Udham Singh Kular, Ajit Pal Singh, K.D Singh, and Dhanraj Pillai.

Indian Hockey Team’s Record At The Summer OIympics

The Indian men’s hockey team is the most successful Olympic hockey team with record 11 medals, that includes eight Gold medals (1928, 1932, 1936, 1948, 1952, 1956, 1964, and 1980), a Silver (1960), and two Bronze medals (1968 and 1972).

They also have a record of winning 77 matches and scoring 433 goals in Olympic history. Late Balbir Singh Sr. has a record to his name for scoring the most goals (5 against Pakistan in 1956 Melbourne) in the Olympic Final history.

The Indian men’s hockey team has qualified for the 2021 Tokyo Olympics after winning two games with 11 goals against Russia at the 2019 FIH Men’s Hockey Olympic Qualifiers in Bhubaneshwar, Odisha. They have been placed in Group A of the men’s field hockey at the Tokyo Olympics alongside Argentina, Australia, Japan, New Zealand, and Spain.



1. Suraj Karkera

2. Krishnan Pathak

3. P.R. Sreejesh


1. Rupinder Pal Singh

2. Jarmanpreet Singh

3. Kothajit Singh

4. Surender Kumar

5. Harmanpreet Singh

6. Nilam Sanjeep Xess

7. Gurinder Singh

8. Dipsan Tirkey

9. Birendra Lakra

10. Amit Rohidas

11. Varun Kumar


1. Chinglensana Singh Kangujam

2. Manpreet Singh (Captain)

3. Nilakanta Sharma

4. Sumit

5. Jaskaran Singh

6. Rajkumar Pal

7. Hardik Singh

8. Vivek Sagar Prasad.


1. Akashdeep Singh

2. Sunil Sowmarpet Vitalacharya

3. Lalit Kumar Upadhyay

4. Mandeep Singh

5. Ramandeep Singh

6. Simranjeet Singh

7. Shamsher Singh

8. Gurjant Singh

9. Dilpreet Singh

10. Gursahibjit Singh

11. Shilanand Lakra.


Head Coach: Graham Reid

Analytical Coach: Gregg Clarke

Assistant Coach: Shivendra Singh.

Fetching more content...