Write & Earn
Favorites Edit

Hockey India to felicitate 1975 World Cup winning team

1.95K   //    07 May 2014, 18:41 IST

New Delhi, May 7 (IANS) Hockey India (HI) will felicitate the members of the 1975 World Cup winning side May 14 when the team for the upcoming FIH World Cup will also be announced.

HI has invited all 13 living members of the 1975 World Cup winning team in the capital where they will be presented Rs.1,75,000 each for their contribution to Indian hockey.

“It’s a great honour for us to felicitate the legends who made us proud of being the Champion Holders of the 1975 World Cup. These initiatives are an effort to make the present team believe that they too can do what their seniors have achieved in the past,” said Narinder Batra, secretary general of HI.

Ajit Pal Singh, who led the team in 1975, Ashok Kumar, son of legendary Dhyan Chand, Mohammed Aslam Sher Khan, Harcharan Singh, Leslie Fernandez, Varinder Singh, Ashok Diwan, Michael Kindo, B.P. Govinda, H.J.S. Chimni, V.J. Phillips, Onkar Singh and Kaliah P.E. are the 13 living members of the 1975 World Cup winning team.

Fetching more content...