Favorites Edit

India announce 18-man squad for the Hockey World Cup 2014; Gurbaj Singh returns to the fold

Snehartho Dey
2.43K   //    14 May 2014, 19:44 IST

Indian Hockey Team Training Camp

Coach Terry Walsh of the Indian hockey team has announced the final 18-man squad that will be representing the nation at the 2014 hockey World Cup tournament in Netherlands.

The initial 33-man squad has gone through several training phases and Walsh has finally revealed his preferred set of players.

Gurbaj Singh returns to the team after two years since he last played for the country at the 2012 London Olympic Games after which he was dropped for his poor form.

The  experienced midfielder will feature alongside Dharamvir Singh and SK Uthappa. Meanwhile, Jasjit Singh has been included to play in his maiden tournament.

Sardar Singh who will captain the side said, “I am honoured to lead the team while playing my second World Cup. We have the world’s best coaches who have trained us hard both physically and mentally to put up a good show and deliver better results in the matches. Each member of the team is confident of performing well and live upto the expectations of everyone.”

India have been drawn in Pool A against Australia, Belgium, England, Spain and Malaysia. They kick off their campaign in Hague against Belgium on May 31.


Captain – Sardar Singh,

Goalkeepers – PR Sreejesh and Harjot Singh,


Defenders – Gurbaj Singh, Rupinder Pal Singh, V.R. Raghunath, Birendra Lakra, Kothajit Singh Khadangbam and Manpreet Singh,

Midfielders – SK Uthappa, Dharamvir Singh, Jasjit Singh and Chinglensana Singh

Forwards – SV Sunil, Ramandeep Singh, Akashdeep Singh, Nikkin Thimmaiah and Mandeep Singh.

Topics you might be interested in:
Snehartho Dey
Fetching more content...