Favorites Edit

Mohd Mushtaque Ahmad elected as President of Hockey India

Press Release
382   //    01 Oct 2018, 18:30 IST

Newly Elected Executive Committee Members of hockey India
Newly Elected Executive Committee Members of Hockey India

New Delhi, 01 October 2018: Hockey Bihar's Mohd Mushtaque Ahmad has now been elected as the President of Hockey India following the 8th Hockey India Congress and Elections held today. Ahmad who formerly held the Secretary-General post will now take over from outgoing President Rajinder Singh as Hockey India Chief starting 1 October 2018 after being elected unopposed.

While Gyanendro Ningombam of Manipur Hockey will take over as the Senior Vice President, Asima Ali of Hockey Jammu & Kashmir and Bhola Nath Singh of Hockey Jharkhand will take over each as Vice Presidents.

Hockey Jammu & Kashmir's Rajinder Singh, who held the President’s post after Mariamma Koshy had reached the retirement age earlier this year, has been elected as the new Secretary General and Tapan Kumar Das of Hockey Assam was re-elected as the Treasurer for a second term. Former Indian Women's Team Captain Asunta Lakra of Hockey Jharkhand, was entrusted with the responsibility of Joint Secretary along with Firoz Ansari of Chhattisgarh Hockey.

Meanwhile, Arti Singh of Hockey Rajasthan, M Renuka Lakshmi of Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu and S.V.S. Subramanya Gupta, currently the President of Hockey Karnataka, were each elected unopposed as Executive Members of Hockey India.

Further, Dr. R.P. Singh and Ms. Joydeep Kaur were re-appointed as Athlete Representatives after their nomination from the Executive Board was ratified in the Congress.

The list of 13 newly appointed Hockey India Executive Board members is as below:

President: Mohd. Mushtaque Ahmad

Sr. Vice President: Mr. Gyanendro Ningombam

Secretary General: Mr. Rajinder Singh


Vice-Presidents: Ms. Asima Ali

                           Mr. Bhola Nath Singh

Treasurer: Mr. Tapan Kumar Das

Joint Secretary: Ms. Asunta Lakra

                          Mr. Firoz Ansari

Executive Board Member: Ms. Arti Singh                               

  Ms. M Renuka Lakshmi               

  Mr. S.V.S. Subramanya Gupta 


HOCKEY INDIA (HI) is the governing body having an exclusive mandate to direct and conduct all activities for both men and women hockey in India. It is recognised by the Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports, Govt. of India as the sole body responsible for promoting Hockey in India.

Headquartered in New Delhi, Hockey India was established on 20th May, 2009 and is affiliated to the International Hockey Federation (FIH), the Indian Olympic Association (IOA) and Asian Hockey Federation (AHF).

Committed to the development of Hockey in the country, Hockey India with the assistance of Sports Authority of India and Department of Sports, Government of India, has drawn out a Long-Term Development Programme (LTDP) to train players, provide world-class infrastructure and International exposure besides regular international competition. With its vision to popularise the game and constantly promote it, Hockey India is dedicated to getting our team into the top three in the world.


Odisha - the Eastern State of India - is known for its love for Hockey. The State is the proud host of the Odisha Hockey Men's World Cup Bhubaneswar 2018. The State has successfully hosted the Champions Trophy 2014 and the Odisha Men's Hockey World League Final Bhubaneswar 2017. Kalinga Lancers, the team owned by the State, is the winners in the Hockey India League 2017. Taking a step further towards realising the dream of restoring the glory of Indian Hockey at the global level, the State is sponsoring the Indian Hockey Teams till 2023.

Topics you might be interested in:
Press Release
Fetching more content...