Favorites Edit

National Sub-Junior Hockey Championship to begin on May 10 in Vadodara and Ranchi

2.21K   //    09 May 2014, 17:37 IST

New Delhi, May 9 (IANS): The fourth edition of the Hockey India (HI) Sub-Junior Men’s National Championship, starting May 10, will be played in Vadodara and Ranchi.

The championship will witness 612 players and 34 teams including three new teams – Vidarbha, Citizens XI and Gangpur-Odisha – participating in the tournament.

The teams have been divided into two divisions – A and B. While Division A will have 16 teams, Division B will comprise of 18 teams. Division A is further divided into four Pools consisting of four teams each while in Division B, Pool A and B will have five teams each with four teams each in Pool C and D.

Division B will complete its set of matches May 10-18 at the Kala Bhavan Hockey Ground and the ONGC Pavilion Ground in Vadodara. Division A teams play their matches May 17-25 at the Morabadi Hockey Stadium in Ranchi.

Defending champions Odisha, who beat Jharkhand in the final last year, will play their first match against Chhattisgarh May 17.

“These championships are a big platform for young players to showcase their talent and we always aim at giving such opportunities to these players which helps them go forward and make a career in the game. Like last year, this year too we are looking forward to great hockey being played amongst the players and teams,” HI chief executive officer Elena Norman said.

Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...