ONE 164 full recap and results

Brandon Vera (left) and Jarred Brooks (right).
Brandon Vera (left) and Jarred Brooks (right)

ONE Championship really pulled out all the stops on its year-ending card, with ONE 164 firmly establishing itself as one explosive event this Saturday at the Mall of Asia Arena in Manila.

Jarred Brooks broke the hearts of millions when he snatched the ONE strawweight world title from Philippine hero Joshua Pacio in the massive main event. Brooks, who relished the hostile atmosphere, had Pacio under control for much of the fight, making use of his superior wrestling to great effect.

An underrated striker, Brooks utilized his speed to sneak in the more accurate shots that tagged Pacio in the face more often than not.

In the end, it was the American's night as he ushered in a new age in ONE Championship’s strawweight division after a clinical unanimous decision win.

The co-main event saw Superlek Kiatmoo9 take another feather in his fierce rivalry with Panpayak Jitmuangnon when he scored a split-decision win in their 138-pound Muay Thai catchweight bout.

Just like their previous encounters, the two Thai superstars went at it strike for strike, but it was Superlek who did more damage in their chess match of a fight.

Panpayak and Superlek were trading the whole match, but the tides ultimately turned in Superlek’s favor.

Heavyweight star Amir Aliakbari captured a pivotal victory when he blasted former ONE heavyweight world champion Brandon Vera for the first-round knockout win.

In a matchup of true behemoths, Aliakbari methodically waited for his chance en route to the ground-and-pound finish 3:37 into the first. Aliakbari, who barely broke a sweat, was calculated in his approach and he carefully used his striking to set up his ground game.

The Iranian star captured his second straight win inside the circle and in the process saw Vera into retirement.

Hu Yong secured, arguably, the greatest win of his career when he knocked out Geje Eustaquio in the first round of the flyweight match.

The Chinese star was aggressive from the opening bell, launching into a flying knee that nearly tagged Eustaquio. Despite his miss, Hu continued his aggressive pace and repeatedly tagged the former ONE flyweight world champion with heavy shots on the feet and on the ground.

It was a right overhand, though, that ultimately finished off the Filipino star 4:43 into the opening round.

The bantamweight bout between Jeremy Pacatiw and Tial Thang had more than enough fireworks to get the Filipino crowd to the edge of their seats.

Tial and Pacatiw wasted no time in launching their attacks, with both fighters landing some heavy shots right off the bat. The two, despite the friendly nature between them, had no problems blasting each other with night-ending blows.

It was in the second round, though, where Pacatiw displayed his full arsenal when he locked in a tight triangle choke that forced Tial to tap.

Drex Zamboanga more than proved his mettle when he upended ONE Warrior Series winner Adonis Sevilleno in their bantamweight contest.

Buoyed by the frenzied crowd, the two Filipino fighters put on a show to remember as they went at each other throughout the match.

In the end, it was Zamboanga’s control that netted him a compelling win in front of the home audience.

Full card results for ONE 164

Jarred Brooks defeated Joshua Pacio via unanimous decision to become the new ONE strawweight world champion (MMA strawweight).

Superlek Kiatmoo9 defeated Panpayak Jitmuangnon via split decision (Muay Thai – catchweight of 138 pounds).

Amir Aliakbari defeated Brandon Vera via TKO at 3:37 of Round 1 (MMA – heavyweight).

Hu Yong defeated Geje Eustaquio via KO at 4:43 of Round 1 (MMA – flyweight).

Jeremy Pacatiw defeated Tial Thang via submission (triangle choke) at 1:17 of Round 2 (MMA – bantamweight).

Drex Zamboanga defeated Adonis Sevilleno via unanimous decision (MMA – bantamweight).

Jhanlo Mark Sangiao defeated Anacleto Lauron via submission (rear-naked choke) at 1:48 of Round 1 (MMA – catchweight of 156.25 pounds).

Tagir Khalilov defeated Chorfah Tor.Sangtiennoi via TKO at 2:29 of Round 1 (Muay Thai – flyweight).

Lara Fernandez defeated Dangkongfah Banchamek via split decision (Muay Thai – women's atomweight).

Meng Bo defeated Jenelyn Olsim via KO at 00:24 of Round 1 (MMA 130 pounds catchweight).

Quick Links

Edited by Aziel Karthak
Be the first one to comment