Favorites Edit

Jeff Gordon among 20 NASCAR Hall of Fame nominees for 2019 class

72   //    07 Mar 2018, 04:20 IST
Jeff Gordon
Jeff Gordon

A three-time Daytona 500 champion and four-time NASCAR series champion, Jeff Gordon is among five new nominees for the NASCAR Hall of Fame.

NASCAR on Tuesday announced 20 nominees for the Hall of Fame's class of 2019 in addition to five nominees for the Landmark Award for Outstanding Contributions to NASCAR. 

Gordon's 93 career Cup wins is third on the all-time list behind Hall of Fame drivers Richard Petty (200) and David Pearson (105). 

Ralph Moody, John Holman, Harry Gant and Kirk Shelmerdine are also new nominees for the Hall of Fame. 

Gordon is expected to be a first-ballot Hall of Famer when voting for the five-member class takes place on May 23.  

The 20 nominees were selected by a committee of representatives from NASCAR and the NASCAR Hall of Fame, track owners from major facilities and short tracks and the media. 

The 20 nominees for induction into the NASCAR Hall of Fame, listed as announced on NBC Sports Tuesday, include:


Harry Gant


John Holman

Ralph Moody

Kirk Shelmerdine

Jack Roush

Roger Penske

Joe Gibbs

Ricky Rudd

Waddell Wilson

Buddy Baker

Davey Allison

Red Farmer

Ray Fox

Harry Hyde

Alan Kulwicki

Bobby Labonte

Hershel McGriff

Larry Phillips

Mike Stefanik

The five nominees for the Landmark Award are:

Alvin Hawkins Sr. 

Barney Hall

Janet Guthrie

Jim Hunter

Ralph Seagraves

Fetching more content...