New User posted their first comment

Team Nordic wins Nations Cup at Race of Champions in México

Tom Kristensen whizzing past the finish line to win the ROC Nations Cup
Tom Kristensen whizzing past the finish line to win the ROC Nations Cup
rehaan díaz
Modified 20 Jan 2019

Team Nordic’s Tom Kristensen and Johan Kristoffersson edged out Team Germany in the Race of Champions Nations Cup. This is the first time that the event has comes to Latin America and is being held at Foro Sol inside the Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez, México City.

‘Mr. Le Mans’ Kristensen and current World RallyX Champion Kristoffersson prevailed in the final. In the first heat, Kristensen went head-to-head and beat four-time F1 world champion Sebastian Vettel by two races to one. New Ferrari academy recruit and Formula 3 Champion Mick Schumacher blanked Kristoffersson 2-0 in the second heat. In the final heat, Schumacher went up against Kristensen, who was competing in a record-equaling 15th Race of Champions equaling Stig Blomqvist’s record. In the end, though, the nine-time Le Mans-winning Dane schooled Schumacher Jr and take the title.

The Race of Champions which first began in 1988, is an international motorsport event held at the start of each year, featuring some of the world's best racing and rally drivers. It is the only competition in the world where stars from Formula One, World Rally Championship, IndyCar, NASCAR, sportscars and touring cars compete against each other, going head-to-head in identical cars.

A visibly pleased Kristensen said after the race

"That was a very tight fight, as you saw with my race with Sebastian. Then Mick had a brilliant fight with Johan that brought them to the third race. He should be very proud of himself on his first visit to the Race Of Champions - and I’m always proud any time to beat a Schumacher. This was my 15th appearance here, equaling Stig Blomqvist’s record. I hope Stig is watching it somewhere and I hope he’s a bit proud of me even if I’m not a Swede!”

Germany is the most successful country in the championship with eight wins, with Sebastian Vettel and Michael Schumacher combining to win six straight years from 2007-2012. Vettel has also won an individual driver's ROC title in 2015 when the race was held in London. On Sunday, it’s time for the main event itself, as it’s a flat-out battle for individual glory.

Published 20 Jan 2019, 13:22 IST
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now