Write & Earn
Favorites Edit

Who is the 2017 NASCAR Rookie of the Year?

The future of NASCAR is in good hands after an intense battle for Sunoco Rookie of the Year honors Sunday at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

20 Nov 2017, 05:28 IST
Erik Jones

Erik Jones was crowned the 2017 NASCAR Sunoco Rookie of the Year after Sunday's final race of the season, the Ford EcoBoost 400 at Homestead-Miami Speedway. 

Jones beat out future Joe Gibbs Racing teammate Daniel Suarez for the honors, which has a different scoring system than the normal Cup Series fixtures. 

A 10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 point system is used for scoring finishing positions by the rookies. The highest-finishing rookie in each race earns 10 points, the second-highest, nine points, etc. Of the 36 races, only the top 17 are counted in rookie race. 


With the Sunoco Rookie of the Year honors, Jones will be awarded a $50,000 year-end bonus.

Ty Dillon finished third in the rookie standings followed by Corey LaJoie and Gray Gaulding. 

Chase Briscoe, who won Friday's Camping World Truck Series race, was named 2017 Sunoco Rookie of the Year title on the trucks side, while William Byron took home the honors in the Xfinity Series. 

Fetching more content...