Bengaluru Blasters


The Bengaluru Blasters is a cricket team based in the city of Bengaluru and which plays in the Karnataka Premier League (KPL), which is modelled after the Indian Premier League. There are the newest entrants to the league, as the team was only formed in 2017 and they have only played in a single edition of the Karnataka Premier League.

The Bengaluru Blasters have a young and talented captain in Ravikumar Samarth, who was also their most expensive purchase in the auction at Rs. 5.9 lakhs. However, their biggest signing was that of J Arun Kumar as head coach, who has an immensely successful track record.

Kumar had previously led Karnataka to a treble of domestic titles - Ranji Trophy, Vijay Hazare Trophy and the Irani Cup, for two years in succession. He is widely regarded as one of the most successful coaches in the Indian domestic circuit.


Since the folding of the two Bangalore franchises in the Karnataka Premier League in 2011, the Karnataka capital did not have a team representing it for three seasons of the KPL. However, that problem was solved by the creation of the Bengaluru Blasters in 2017.

The Bengaluru Blasters are sponsored by Kalyani Motors, who are eminent car dealers and have a dealership with Maruti-Suzuki. They have been described as a committed and passionate owners with an intelligent management which looks to create the base for a strong team.

The Blasters have a well balanced young side of eighteen players, who will be providing cover in each area of the game of cricket. The big names in the team are Pavan Deshpande, Prasidh Krishna, Mitrakant Yadav, Shishir Bhavane and obviously their captain R Samarth. They also have high hopes for Nikin Jose, who is the youngest player to play in the KPL, making his debut at the age of 15. Jose is an opening batsman and an ambidextrous bowler.

Prominent Achievements

Having played just season of the KPL where they finished bottom of the table, the Blasters haven’t really achieved much as of now. But the team will be looking to change that in 2018, with a very talented team and dedicated owners.

Career Trajectory of the Team

The Blasters had a really poor debut season at the Karnataka Premier League, where they lost all of their 6 matches, and failed to earn a single point. Their batting department had failed in particular, failing to chalk up the runs on the boar with the bowlers on the team doing a much better job.

Final Position
Highest Scorer
Highest Wicket-taker
Win %
R Samarth
M Viswanathan (123 runs)
Abhishek Bhat (11 wickets)

Article image

Go to article
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now