New Zealand Hockey


Nick NameBlack Sticks

Prominent PlayersPaul Ackerley, Scott Anderson, Jeff Archibald, Phillip Burrows


The New Zealand men's national field hockey team, nicknamed as the Black Sticks Men are currently the world no. 9. They defeated Australia to win gold at the 1976 Summer Olympics in Montreal, making them the first non-Asian/European team to do so. They have also won silver at the 2002 and 2018 Commonwealth Games and bronze in the 2010 edition. They were the runners up at the 2012-13 World Hockey league, and have clinched the gold in the 2009 Champions Challenge, and silver in 2007.

They are yet to clinch the Oceania Cup while they have won the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup twice in 2012 and 2015, going into the 2018 World Cup.

Current Roster

Head Coach: Darren Smith

Assistant Coach: Bryce Collins

Manager: Kevin Marr

Cory BennettNorth HarbourDefender
Marcus ChildAucklandMidfielder
George EnersenCanterburyGoalkeeper
Hugo InglisSouthernMid/Striker
Stephen JennessCapitalStriker
Richard JoyceNorth HarbourGoalkeeper
Dane LettCapitalDefender
Shea McAleeseCentralDefender
George MuirNorth HarbourMid/Striker
Dominic NewmanCanterburyStriker
Jared PanchiaAucklandStriker
Arun Panchia (VC)AucklandDefender/Mid
Hayden PhillipsCentralMid/Striker
Nick RossSouthernMidfielder
Kane RussellSouthernDefender/Mid
Aidan SarikayaMidlandsMidfielder
Blair Tarrant (C)SouthernDefender
Nic WoodsMidlandsDefender/Mid

Notable players

Paul Ackerley, Scott Anderson, Jeff Archibald, Ryan Archibald, Phillip Burrows, Simon Child, Tony Ineson, Ramesh Patel, Hayden Shaw, Nick Wilson, Selwyn Maister, Barry Maister, Trevor Manning, Jamie Smith, Peter Daji

Fetching more content...