Favorites Edit

5 things to know about the WTA Year-end championships

Amogh Jain
Top 5 / Top 10
1.98K   //    22 Oct 2016, 20:54 IST

If winning a Grand Slam is a dream for every tennis player then so is to be part of the elite group at year-end championships. Only eight players make it to this prestigious tournament and the winner caps off the year as the undisputed champion. The battle is fierce and the tension is high. There are no easy matches as the best of the best compete for the ultimate prize. So, the stage is set for an incredible grand finale as the top 8 female tennis players of the year prepare for WTA year-end Championships in Singapore.

These are the 5 things to know about the WTA year-end Championships before the tournament kicks-off tomorrow.

  1. Red and White Groups : Significance of the group name

  2. SINGAPORE - OCTOBER 21:  (L-R) Micky Lawler, WTA President, Simona Halep of Romania, Karolina Pliskova of Czech Republic, Garbine Muguruza of Spain, Angelique Kerber of Germany, Agnieszka Radwanska of Poland, Madison Keys of the United States, Dominika Cibulkova of Slovakia and Melissa Pine, WTA Finals Tournament Director pose on stage during the Official Draw Ceremony prior to the BNP Paribas WTA Finals Singapore at Marina Bay Sands on October 21, 2016 in Singapore.  (Photo by Matthew Stockman/Getty Images for WTA)
    8 players are drawn into two groups each

    The WTA finals follows a round-robin format with the eight players split into two groups of four each. In the first four days of the tournament, each player competes with the other three players in her group.  At the end of four days, the top two players in each group advance to the semifinals. The first-placed player in one group faces the second-placed player in the other group, and vice versa. The winners of the semifinals play each other in the championship match.

Singapore is the ninth city to hold WTA Championships and the first in Asia.

wta championships singapore merlion

The two groups have been named as White and Red groups. The groups get their names from the colours in Singapore’s flag, Singapore being the place of event. The draw was announced on Friday and the two groups feature players as follows:

Red Group

White Group

Angelique Kerber

Agnieszka Radwanksa

Simona Halep

Garbine Muguruza

Madison Keys

Karolina Pliskova

Dominka Cibulkova

Svetlana Kuznetsova

1 / 5 NEXT
Topics you might be interested in:
Amogh Jain
Tennis is my life.
Fetching more content...