HCL Tennis Junior Tour and Masters 2016 - Day 4

HCL Tennis Junior Tour

Players played for the last two spots in the tournament and secure their place to be part of the finals on the day 4 of the HCL Tennis Junior Tour and Masters 2016 at the Shiv Nadar University, Greater Noida.

Aakarsh Gaonkar is on his peak form. He beat the first seeded player Ayushmann Arjeria in first round creating a upset for sure and now has reached the finals of the tournament beating Arjun Premkumar(Seeded 4) by 6-1, 6-1. He inspires a lot from Micheal Jordan and Roger Federer.

Rahul Pamei had beaten Second seed L N Nithis Balaaji in the quarters and was coming into this match with confidence and he showed it in the semfinals too by wrapping up the match in straight sets beating Wyatt Obrien 44 6-4, 6-0

Yashraj Dalvi made it through to the final of the boys U-14 after a tough encounter against Amrutjay Mohanty and winning the match 6-3, 4-6, 6-1In girls Under-14 catergory , Both the top two seeded players Mekhala Manna and Sruthi P easily beat their opponents in straight sets and now will be playing against each other in finals.

Finals Lineup

HCL Tennis Junior Tour and Masters 2016 and will see four finals being contested - the Boys U-12 and U-14, the Girls U-12 and U-14.

Akarsh Gaonkar vs Rahul Pamei (Boys U12)Vaishnavi Adkar vs Rutuja Chapalkar (Girls U12) R S Rajesh Kannan vs Yashraj Dalvi (Boys U14) Mekhala Manna vs Sruthi P (Girls U14)

The winner in the singles event of the Masters in the U-12 and the U-14 categories will be sent to a fully-sponsored training session for one week to the RafaNadal Academy in Spain. The runners-up will be sent to Kochi to one of the high-performance centres of Mahesh Bhupathi’s tennis academies for two weeks of training, entirely sponsored by HCL.

Results(24th November 2016)


(3) Akarsh Gaonkar defeated (127) Arjun Premkumar 6-1, 6-1(15) Rahul Pamei defeated (44) Wyatt Obrien 6-4, 6-0


(21) Vaishnavi Adkar defeated (26) Pari Singh 6-4, 6-2(18) Rutuja Chapalkar defeated (110) Kundana Sri 6-1, 6-1


(8) R S Rajesh Kannan defeated (17) Kanishk Pal 6-4, 6-4(82) Yashraj Dalvi defeated (53) Amrutjay Mohanty 6-3, 4-6, 6-1


(83) Mekhala Manna defeated (150) Rijul Vidyasagar Sidanale 6-1, 6-2(48) Sruthi P defeated (72) Joshika Premkumar 6-3, 6-2

Quick Links

Edited by Staff Editor
Be the first one to comment