International Premier Tennis League to be telecast worldwide

IPTL 2015
The IPTL will feature some of the sport’s most legendary names – 4 current and former World No. 1s among them

Dubai, 17th November 2015: Come December, the second edition of the much-anticipated Coca-Cola International Premier Tennis League presented by Qatar Airways (IPTL) will be broadcast in over 150 territories across the globe, the event that features the world’s leading tennis players, now promises to attract both increased spectators and viewers with a bevy of leading broadcasters airing the matches for audiences across the World.

The league has partnered with some of the world’s biggest sports broadcasters. ESPN, Fox Asia, Sky Sports, TV5, WOWOW, Eurosport, Tennis Channel, Star Sports, Abu Dhabi Media Group among others will beam the IPTL into homes across the United States, United Kingdom, South-East Asia, the Middle East, Sub-Saharan Africa, and the Caribbean, giving the league a truly global broadcast footprint.

All matches will be produced in HD quality with IPTL graphics and commentary by Jason Goodall and Robbie Koenig.

“We are proud to strengthen our reach, taking it to global audiences through many of the world’s leading broadcasters. The success of Season 1 is a result of the format being accepted by the players translating into high-intensity competition. We will continue to offer an unmatched viewing experience to our global audiences who are now beginning to enjoy tennis in a manner never seen before,” said retired Indian tennis player Mahesh Bhupathi on behalf of the league.

This year’s edition will see five franchises –The Micromax Indian Aces, OUE Singapore Slammers, UAE Royals, Philippine Mavericks and Japan Warriors battle it out for the coveted IPTL trophy.

The five franchises will feature Grand Slam champions, current and former world number one players, and other top tennis talent from across the world. The star-studded line-up boasts seven of the Top 10men’s and women’s players.

About Coca-Cola International Premier Tennis League presented by Qatar Airways (IPTL)

The IPTL is a unique team-based tennis league founded by India’s multiple Grand Slam winner, Mahesh Bhupathi. Played across 4 countries in Asia, the inaugural edition in 2014 featured 21 Grand Slam Champions and 14 current/former World Number Ones.

The second edition to be played in 2015 promises to be bigger and better, with the addition of a fifth franchise in Japan Warriors to add to the original franchises –Micromax Indian Aces, Philippine Mavericks (renamed from Manila Mavericks), OUE Singapore Slammers and UAE Royals. It will run from 2nd to 20th December 2015 – Japan (2nd – 4th Dec), Philippines (6th – 8th Dec), India (10th – 12th Dec), Dubai (14th – 16th Dec) and Singapore (18th – 20th Dec).

The star-studded league will see the return of tennis superstars like Roger Federer, Novak Djokovic, Serena Williams and Maria Sharapova, while also featuring some new stalwarts in Rafael Nadal, Leander Paes and Kei Nishikori among others this upcoming season.

The idea of getting a delightful blend of past legends, current champions and upcoming bright talent in a team-based competition is a never seen before concept in the sport of tennis, which is what adds to the X-factor of the IPTL.

The IPTL promises to ‘Break the Code’ of the game’s conventional etiquette in order to attract the traditional and new audiences to the sport. Modelled after successful international sports franchise concepts and being recognized as tennis’ newest innovation, the IPTL combines world-class sport and entertainment in a format that keeps both spectators and global TV viewers thoroughly engaged.

Quick Links

Edited by Staff Editor
Be the first one to comment