Favorites Edit

NECC-ITF Women’s Tennis Tournament - Teltumbde stuns Ching in qualifying first round

838   //    22 Dec 2012, 18:09 IST

Rashmi Teltumbde

Pune – Maharashtra girl Rashmi Teltumbde knocked out qualifying event’s fourth seed Wu Ho Ching from Hong Kong to make it to the final qualifying round of the NECC ITF Women’s $25,000 event being organized and hosted by Deccan Gymkhana on Saturday.

On the first day of the two-day qualifying event, Rashmi, who was practising and studying in Pune before shifting to USA for further studies, handled the pace of Ching well to beat her 6-4, 6-3.

The only other upset of the day came at the hands of Sharmada Balu, as her ninth seeded opponent Anushka Bhargava retired trailing 4-6, 1-4 due to injury.

There were two cases of a player giving her opponent a double bagel (winning the match without losing a game).

Japanese second seed Chihiro Nunome beat Riya Bhatia 6-0, 6-0, while Goa’s Natasha Palha won with a similar scoreline against Krishnali Bhosale.

Warrick Amol Amala got in the final qualifying round without even entering the court, as her opponent, top seed Jia Xiang Lu from China, got into main draw due to a last minute pull-out from a main draw player.

The final qualifying rounds would be played on Sunday, and all the winners would get an entry in the main draw, which begins on Monday.

Following are the results: Qualifying First Round:

Bhuvana Kalva (Ind) bt Tarrannum Handa (Ind) 6-4, 7-5;


2- Chihiro Nunome (Jpn) bt Riya Bhatia 6-0, 6-0;

Chamarthi Sai Samhitha (Ind) bt Arantxa Andrady (Ind) 6-2, 6-3;

3- Nidhi Chilumula (Ind) bt Anushka Sathe (Ind) 6-0, 6-2;

Vaniya Dangwal (Ind) bt Sahan Shetty (Ind) 6-2, 6-0;

Rashmi Teltumbde (Ind) bt 4-Wu Ho Ching (HKG) 6-4, 6-3;

Nupur Kaul (Ind) bt Manya Nagpal (Ind) 6-1, 2-0 retired;

5-Natasha Palha (Ind) bt Krishnali Bhonsle (Ind) 6-0, 6-0;

12-Adnya Naik (Ind) bt Nithya Raj Babu Raj (Ind) 6-4, 7-6(1);

6- Chihiro Takayama (Jpn) bt Vasanti Shinde (Ind) 6-4, 6-4;

10-Sharon Sanchana Paul (Ind) bt Varunya Chandrashekar (Ind) 6-2, 6-2;

Sharmada Balu (Ind) bt 9-Anushka Bhargava (Ind) 6-2, 4-1 retired;

11-Sowjanya Bavisetti (Ind) bt Smriti Joon (Ind) 6-2, 6-1;

8-Lee Ya-Hsuan (TPE) bt Amrita Mukherjee (Ind) 6-2, 6-3;

7-Eetee Mehta (Ind) bt Sayali Bhilare (Ind) 7-5, 6-2.

Topics you might be interested in:
Your one-stop source for sports news from all over the world.
Fetching more content...