Women's tennis: 4 great Grand Slam Champions who never won the US Open


#2 Amelie Mauresmo

Amelie Mauresmo - 2006 Australian and Wimbledon Champion
Amelie Mauresmo - 2006 Australian and Wimbledon Champion

The second French woman on the list is Amelie Mauresmo. Mauresmo who rose to the top of the WTA rankings in 2004, couldn't sustain the momentum in 2005 slipping to Number 3 in the year-end rankings. Her only Major title of 2005 was the WTA Finals Championship.

2006 was probably the best year of Mauresmo's career as she won her maiden Grand Slam trophy Down Under beating Justine Henin. She would go and win Wimbledon beating Henin again in the final. At Flushing Meadows, she progressed to the semi-finals where she lost to then 17-year-old teenage sensation Maria Sharapova.

Prior to that, Mauresmo's best performance at the US Open was a semi-final appearance in 2002. Seeded 8th in the tournament, Mauresmo beat 3rd seed Jennifer Capriati and 7th seed Kim Clijsters in 3 sets each to set-up a clash against 2nd seed Venus Williams. Having won two arduous 3 set encounters against Capriati and Clijsters, Mauresmo just didn't have enough in the tank as she lost to Venus in 3 sets.

Mauresmo didn't feature in the 2007 US Open due to injury. A 4th round loss in 2008 and a 2nd round loss in 2009 followed before her retirement from professional tennis.

Edited by Vikshith R
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now