14 Longest WWE Championship reigns of all time

  • It's official: AJ Styles is the longest-reigning WWE champion in SmackDown history!
Danny Hart
Top 5 / Top 10
Modified 28 Aug 2019, 18:02 IST

#12 Superstar Billy Graham (296 days)

AJ Styles is closing in on Billy Graham's reign

The start of the reign: Superstar Billy Graham won the WWE Championship, then known as the WWWF Championship, for the one and only time in his career when he brought a shocking end to Bruno Sammartino’s three-and-a-half-year reign at a Baltimore house show in April 1977.

The end of the reign: After a 10-month rivalry which largely centred around controversial count-out finishes, Bob Backlund finally defeated Graham for the title at MSG in February 1978.

#11 Diesel (358 days)

The start of the reign: In November 1994, just three days after Bob Backlund defeated Bret Hart for the WWE Championship at Survivor Series, Diesel picked up a surprise eight-second victory over the veteran at MSG to start his 358-day reign with the title.

The end of the reign: Diesel retained his title against Owen Hart, Bret Hart, Jeff Jarrett, Shawn Michaels, Bam Bam Bigelow, Sycho Sid, King Mabel and The British Bulldog over 12 months before losing to Bret in a No Disqualification match in November 1995 at Survivor Series.

Published 15 Aug 2018, 14:21 IST
Fetching more content...
Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit