⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

5 Superstars who were WWE World Champions in 3 different decades

Top 5 / Top 10
Published 19 Sep 2019, 12:18 IST
19 Sep 2019, 12:18 IST

#4 Bob Backlund

Bob Backlund
Bob Backlund

Bob Backlund was one of the biggest wrestling stars of the 70s. He defeated 'Superstar' Billy Graham in 1978, and won the WWE title in the process. He held the belt for more than 2000 days. This includes a house show title loss to Antonio Inoki, but WWE doesn't recognize the same.

Backlund took the belt with him to the next decade, and dropped it to The Iron Sheik in 1983. He came back to WWE in the early 90s, and met Bret Hart at Survivor Series 1994 with the WWE title on the line.

Backlund’s Crossface Chickenwing led to Bret's mom throwing in the white towel (at the request of Owen Hart) and giving Backlund the win and the WWE title.

Also read: 5 WWE Superstars who paid heavily for saving the day

#3 The Undertaker

The Undertaker
The Undertaker

The Deadman won his first WWE title way back in the early 90s, when he defeated Hulk Hogan at Survivor Series 1991. He went on to become a mainstay in WWE, and carved a legendary undefeated streak at WrestleMania.

He also won several WWE World titles in the 2000s. One of those reigns kicked off in 2002, when he defeated Hulk Hogan at Judgment Day. He didn't keep the belt for long though, and lost it to The Rock at Vengeance 2002, in a Triple Threat Match that also included Kurt Angle.

The Undertaker won the World title in 2009, and carried it to the 2010s. He lost the same to Chris Jericho inside Elimination Chamber, due to an interference by Shawn Michaels.

Modified 21 Dec 2019, 00:31 IST
Fetching more content...