Favorites Edit

10 greatest Ashes-winning captains of all time

S Samaddar
Top 5 / Top 10
6.03K   //    15 Sep 2017, 00:17 IST

<p src=" />

An English or Australian cricketer might have an excellent record as a captain but it is unlikely that his tenure would be remembered fondly by his countrymen if he fails to win the Ashes at least once. It is the pinnacle of success as far as Australian and English captains are concerned.

An Ashes victory is a definite ticket to immortality for a captain and here is a look at some of the best (in terms of the significance of the victories they engineered) Ashes-winning captains.

#10 Mike Gatting

The win under Gatting in 1986 would be England’s last Ashes series win in Australia for 24 years

At a time when both England and Australia were struggling to register good enough results, Mike Gatting’s England side arrived in Australia in October 1986 with a lot to prove. Australia were in a rebuilding phase and England cashed in with a far more experienced side by winning the first Test in Brisbane.

Chris Broad was the pick of the batsmen with three centuries while Graham Dilley and Ian Botham shone with the ball as England won the Ashes 2-1. That win under Gatting would be England’s last Ashes series win in Australia for 24 years. 

1 / 10 NEXT
Topics you might be interested in:
S Samaddar
Fetching more content...