New User posted their first comment

11 bowlers who bowled the final ball in 11 World Cups

Nuwan Kulasekara etched his name in the World Cup history
Nuwan Kulasekara etched his name in the World Cup history
Modified 10 Nov 2018, 17:29 IST
Top 5 / Top 10

The World Cup is the biggest cricket tournament on the planet where teams from all over the world compete for the supreme glory. Held once in every 4 years, a World Cup victory is the dream of every cricketer. 11 World Cups have been played so far with the 2019 World Cup set to be the 12th edition. 20 different nations have competed at the event where only 5 countries have been successful in lifting the World Cup. There have been several iconic matches in World Cup history but no game equals the level of excitement of the World Cup final.

The World Cup final is the most crucial game of the entire tournament as the winner of that match earns the right to be called the Best in the World. And the 2nd innings of that match is the most important innings of the 4 years. Here are the 11 bowlers who had bowled the final ball in the 11 World Cup finals played thus far -

#1 1975 World Cup - Vanburn Holder, West Indies

(Result -Won)

Vanburn Holder
Vanburn Holder

The 1975 World Cup was played in the 60 overs format and saw 8 teams namely England, India, East Africa, Australia, New Zealand, Pakistan, West Indies, and Sri Lanka collide for the title. England, Australia, New Zealand, and Windies made it to the semi-finals where the Aussies and the Caribbean side defeated the English side and the Kiwis respectively.

In the final at Lord's, West Indies batted first and posted 291/8 on the board riding on Clive Llyod's 102 off 85 balls. Chasing 292, Australia faltered towards the end of their innings as the last man to be dismissed, J Thomson, was run out during the 59th over bowled by Holder to hand West Indies a win by 17 runs.

1 / 11 NEXT
Published 10 Nov 2018, 17:29 IST
Fetching more content...
Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit