⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

Fastest T20I century for each Test-playing nation

  • With Dawid Malan scoring the fastest T20I century for England, we take a look at the fastest T20I century for each Test-playing nation.
Top 5 / Top 10
Modified 21 Dec 2019, 00:59 IST

Sri Lanka: Tillakaratne Dilshan (53 balls)

Tillakaratne Dilshan
Tillakaratne Dilshan

Captaining Sri Lanka, Tillakaratne Dilshan scored a hundred from 53 balls against Australia at Pallekele on 6 August 2011.

Sri Lanka batted first, and Dilshan made an unbeaten 104 from 57 balls with 12 fours and five sixes. Dilshan’s innings came at a strike rate of 182.45. Thanks to his blazing knock, Sri Lanka finished with 198 for 3.

In reply, Australia could only manage 163 for 8. David Warner made 53 from 31 balls, but Dilruwan’s Perera’s 3 for 26 halted the Aussies in their chase.

New Zealand: Colin Munro (47 balls)

Colin Munro
Colin Munro

Kiwi opener Colin Munro smashed a century off 47 balls against West Indies at Mount Maunganui in a match played on 3 January 2018.

New Zealand batted first, and Munro made 104 from 53 balls. He hit only three fours, but blasted 10 sixes in an innings that came at a strike rate of 196.22.

Munro was well-supported by Martin Guptill (63 from 38 balls), as the openers featured in a 136-run stand. New Zealand ended up posting 243 for 5.

In response, Tim Southee’s 3 for 21 restricted West Indies to 124 all out. Andre Fletcher’s 32-ball 46 was the only innings of note.

Published 09 Nov 2019, 02:49 IST
Fetching more content...