New User posted their first comment

Gavaskar humorously points out Sehwag's use of DRS during 2011 World Cup

Sunil Gavaskar
Sunil Gavaskar
Modified 23 Jan 2019, 19:01 IST

What’s the story?

Sunil Gavaskar is known to regale with stories and occasionally take a dig at cricketers — in a funny vein, of course — especially when he happens to be in the commentary box.

So while he was commentating during the first ODI between India and New Zealand, in the ongoing five-match series, Sunil Gavaskar took a jibe at Virender Sehwag for his poor judgment in the use of the DRS in the 2011 World Cup finals at the Wankhede. The batsman had been adjudged out after being rapped on the pads by a Malinga delivery.

In case you didn't know...

Sehwag was an important part of the Indian team that won the 2011 World Cup, during which he was the designated opener alongside Sachin Tendulkar. The stylish batsman was adjudged out LBW in the second ball of the innings during the finals, off a Lasith Malinga delivery, even as India chased a massive 275 runs to win the Cup.

Though Sehwag appeared to be trapped plumb in front, he chose to use a review, which was eventually lost and he had to make his way back to the dressing room.

The heart of the matter

During the 30th over of New Zealand's innings in the first ODI, the hosts had already lost five wickets for 132 runs. Mitchell Santner was on the crease along with skipper Kane Williamson, the latter having gone past 50 at this point.

Now while Santner is known to be a capable allrounder, especially once he gets his eye in, Kohli chose to exploit the batsman's perceived weakness against the short ball. He brought in eventual man of the match Mohammed Shami to work the wicket out.

Shami delivered by pitching a fuller length delivery after consistently bowling short ones. Santner tried working the ball to the leg side by taking a shuffle towards the off and was hit plumb on the pads, in front of the stumps.


Santner looked keen on using the DRS to review the decision but was promptly denied by captain Kane from the other end.

It was at this point Gavaskar, a former India captain, pointed out that one couldn't carelessly use up DRS, especially when the skipper was at the other end. He then went on the reminisce the Sehwag incident and said:

"Unless, of course, you're as care-free as Virender Sehwag, who would say 'I value my wicket, and I will use the DRS, even when trapped plumb in front of the wicket."

What’s next?

Gavaskar's recollection seems to have been taken in good spirits, even as India went on to restrict the Kiwis to a below par 157 runs. India eventually won by scoring 156, adjusted according to the D/L method, in 34.5 overs.

The action now moves to Mount Maunganui where the two teams will play the second ODI on January 26.

Published 23 Jan 2019, 19:01 IST
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit