Highest Individual Score in ODI

Last Modified Jan 18, 2023 19:15 IST
NoPlayerRunsBalls4s6sSRTeamOppositionGroundMatch Date
1RG Sharma264173339152.6Indiav Sri LankaEden Gardens13 Nov 2014
2MJ Guptill237*1632411145.39New Zealandv West IndiesWellington21 Mar 2015
3V Sehwag219149257146.97Indiav West IndiesIndore8 Dec 2011
4CH Gayle2151471016146.25West Indiesv ZimbabweCanberra24 Feb 2015
5Fakhar Zaman210*156245134.61Pakistanv ZimbabweBulawayo20 Jul 2018
6Ishan Kishan2101312410160.3Indiav BangladeshChattogram10 Dec 2022
7RG Sharma2091581216132.27Indiav AustraliaBengaluru2 Nov 2013
8RG Sharma208*1531312135.94Indiav Sri LankaMohali13 Dec 2017
9Shubman Gill208149199139.59Indiav New ZealandHyderabad (Deccan)18 Jan 2023
10SR Tendulkar200*147253136.05Indiav South AfricaGwalior24 Feb 2010
11CK Coventry194*156167124.35Zimbabwev BangladeshBulawayo16 Aug 2009
12Saeed Anwar194146225132.87Pakistanv IndiaChennai21 May 1997
13Fakhar Zaman1931551810124.51Pakistanv South AfricaJohannesburg4 Apr 2021
14IVA Richards189*170215111.17West Indiesv EnglandManchester31 May 1984
15MJ Guptill189*155192121.93New Zealandv EnglandSouthampton2 Jun 2013
16ST Jayasuriya189161214117.39Sri Lankav IndiaSharjah29 Oct 2000
17G Kirsten188*159134118.23South Africav U.A.E.Rawalpindi16 Feb 1996
18SR Tendulkar186*150203124Indiav New ZealandHyderabad (Deccan)8 Nov 1999
19SR Watson185*961515192.7Australiav BangladeshMirpur11 Apr 2011
20F du Plessis185141163131.2South Africav Sri LankaCape Town7 Feb 2017
21MS Dhoni183*1451510126.2Indiav Sri LankaJaipur31 Oct 2005
22SC Ganguly183158177115.82Indiav Sri LankaTaunton26 May 1999
23V Kohli183148221123.64Indiav PakistanMirpur18 Mar 2012
24ML Hayden181*1661110109.03Australiav New ZealandHamilton20 Feb 2007
25LRPL Taylor181*147176123.12New Zealandv EnglandDunedin7 Mar 2018
26IVA Richards181125167144.8West Indiesv Sri LankaKarachi13 Oct 1987
27MJ Guptill180*1381511130.43New Zealandv South AfricaHamilton1 Mar 2017
28JJ Roy180151165119.2Englandv AustraliaMelbourne14 Jan 2018
29DA Warner179128195139.84Australiav PakistanAdelaide26 Jan 2017
30JD Campbell179137156130.65West Indiesv IrelandDublin5 May 2019
31H Masakadza178*167174106.58Zimbabwev KenyaHarare18 Oct 2009
32DA Warner178133195133.83Australiav AfghanistanPerth4 Mar 2015
33Q de Kock1781131611157.52South Africav AustraliaCenturion30 Sep 2016
34JN Malan177*169166104.73South Africav IrelandDublin (Malahide)16 Jul 2021
35PR Stirling177134215132.08Irelandv CanadaToronto7 Sep 2010
36E Lewis176*130177135.38West Indiesv EnglandThe Oval27 Sep 2017
37AB de Villiers176104157169.23South Africav BangladeshPaarl18 Oct 2017
38Litton Das176143168123.07Bangladeshv ZimbabweSylhet6 Mar 2020
39N Kapil Dev175*138166126.81Indiav ZimbabweTunbridge Wells18 Jun 1983
40HH Gibbs175111217157.65South Africav AustraliaJohannesburg12 Mar 2006
41SR Tendulkar175141194124.11Indiav AustraliaHyderabad (Deccan)5 Nov 2009
42V Sehwag175140145125Indiav BangladeshMirpur19 Feb 2011
43CS MacLeod175141145124.11Scotlandv CanadaChristchurch23 Jan 2014
44WU Tharanga174*159193109.43Sri Lankav IndiaKingston2 Jul 2013
45JS Malhotra173*124416139.51U.S.A.v P.N.G.Al Amerat9 Sep 2021
46ME Waugh173148163116.89Australiav West IndiesMelbourne9 Feb 2001
47DA Warner173136240127.2Australiav South AfricaCape Town12 Oct 2016
48CB Wishart172*151183113.9Zimbabwev NamibiaHarare10 Feb 2003
49AC Gilchrist172126133136.5Australiav ZimbabweHobart16 Jan 2004
50L Vincent172120169143.33New Zealandv ZimbabweBulawayo24 Aug 2005

When we talk about highest scores in the One Day International cricket matches, the very first thoughts are about having double hundreds in a 50 over game. While this thing was just a dream for the cricket fans until 2010 when it was made possible by the God of Cricket himself.

Australia v India - Game 1

The case wasn't that there had been no attempts at achieving 200s. The only hindrance was the completion of innings, whether by winning or by completion of the said 50 overs. For instance, Charles Coventry (194), Martin Guptill (189) and MS Dhoni (183) were all unbeaten and had to lose the opportunity of scoring a 200 due to unavailability of balls. Even Sachin Tendulkar had tried it back in 1999 but he failed.

After the emergence of players like Virender Sehwag, Sanath Jayasuriya, Chris Gayle, etc. who are hard hitters, the score of 200 was now very much achievable. The only thing required was a mindset and great form. That's the reason why there have been seven instances of double hundreds in ODIs after Sachin did it in 2010.

The score of 200 by a player guarantees the team a victory might be true but the statement fails when the score is a little low. There have been instances where such a high score couldn't lead the team to victory. Coventry (194) and Matthew Hayden (181) are the ones who would be remembered for such instances. And it is an interesting fact that Sachin Tendulkar has his name on the list as well. This is the proof that cricket is a team sport.

The score of 175 by Kapil Dev was considered to be one of the best performances in the World Cup. But as time and techniques evolved, players went on to score highest numbers in the world tournament as well.

Martin Guptill and Chris Gayle are the two examples of players who have a 200 in a World Cup tournament.

One of the records that can be broken in near future is that a 300 in the 300 - ball game. Now, this might seem to be going too far on expectations, but it takes just one over to make 36 runs. And if Rohit Sharma has got a score of 264, the 300 mark is not unachievable.

*Last updated on 18 February, 2019