Favorites Edit

ICC Champions Trophy: List of past winners and the hosts

Manish Pathak
17.33K   //    02 Jun 2016, 19:38 IST
The next Champions Trophy will be held in England in 2017

The 2017 ICC Champions Trophy will be held in England and Wales between 1 and 18 June 2017. This will be the 8th edition of the tournament.

India, the current holders of the trophy will begin their campaign against Pakistan on June 4 in Birmingham.

This tournament is also known as the Mini World Cup and will feature the top-8 ranked One Day International teams. In the first four seasons, all the 10 full members participated, but from 2008 the number has been trimmed to 8 teams.

We take a look at the list of winners of this Trophy down the years.

1998: (Winner- South Africa, Host- Bangladesh)

The inaugural season was won by South Africa, their only ICC silverware ever since.  The Proteas defeated West Indies in the finals by 4 wickets.

Chasing a target of 245, South Africa eased to a victory in the 47th over. Captain Hansie Cronje was the top-scorer for them as he saw the team through with an unbeaten 61.

Jacques Kallis was the wrecker-in-chief with the ball as he picked up 5 wickets for only 30 runs in his 7.3 overs.

1 / 7 NEXT
Topics you might be interested in:
Manish Pathak
Test Cricket: Valentine for life!
Fetching more content...