Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

India vs Australia 2019: 4 Changes India might make to their XI for the 1st T20I

  • Predicting the changes India will make to their XI for the 1st T20i
Top 5 / Top 10
Modified 20 Dec 2019, 21:36 IST

Will Vijay Shankar hold on to his place in the XI?
Will Vijay Shankar hold on to his place in the XI?

After losing its first bilateral T20I series, India will be looking to come back strongly during the upcoming home series against the Aussies team. India have made as many as 5 changes to their squad that had played in New Zealand. Virat Kohli and Jasprit Baumrah who were rested for the previous series walk back into the squad.

KL Rahul and Umesh Yadav make a comeback into the side. Mumbai Indians leg spinner Mayank Markande got a maiden international call-up. This is the last international assignment for team India before the World Cup, so the team management will be looking to fill up the voids in the squad during the course of this series.

It will be a crucial series for players like Rishabh Pant, KL Rahul, Dinesh Karthik, Umesh Yadav, and Vijay Shankar. Their performances in this series will determine whether they will board the plane to England or not.

In the previous T20 series against New Zealand, India performed reasonably well with the bat, but their bowling unit conceded 200+ total to the opposition on two occasions. India's fielding was also not up to the mark in the series as they dropped too many catches. They will look to rectify the mistakes this time around.

The return of number 1 ranked ODI bowler, Jasprit Bumrah into the squad significantly strengthens bowling department. In the batting department, Virat Kohli's return to number 3 position will further solidify the already strong batting line-up.

The first T20I is set to be played on February 24th, Sunday at Vizag.

Two obvious changes: Virat Kohli and Jasprit Bumrah in for Dinesh Karthik and Bhuvneshwar Kumar

The top batsmen and bowler in India currently
The top batsmen and bowler in India currently

Virat Kohli and Jasprit Bumrah will walk into the XI for the match if they are fit. Rested pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar might make way for his returning bowling partner. Dinesh Karthik might be unlucky to miss out from the XI in order to accommodate the returning skipper.


Viajy Shankar might hold onto his place because of his ability to bowl a few overs in case the situation demands as India might play Hardik and Krunal at 7 and 8 positions. The presence of Vijay gives India 6 bowling options. Vijay Shankar might also play at number 4 position in the series.

Rishabh Pant will continue to be the floater in the XI whose batting position will depend on the situation of the match. Usual suspects, MS Dhoni, and Hardik Pandya will play the role of finishers in the XI. Krunal Pandya provides the extra cushion to the lower middle order.

KL Rahul and Dinesh Karthik might have to wait to get an opportunity to play in the series. If India decides to rest any one of the two primary openers then KL Rahul might make a comeback into the side. Dinesh Karthik, on the other hand, will get an opportunity if India decides to drop Vijay Shankar.

Chahal and Umesh Yadav in for Kuldeep Yadav and Khaleel Ahmed

Umesh Yadav will look to impress the selectors before the World Cup
Umesh Yadav will look to impress the selectors before the World Cup

Fast bowler Umesh Yadav is set to make a comeback into the T20I side after a gap. He was impressive during last season of IPL but was not able to cement his position in Indian limited overs side.

Selectors persistence with left-arm pacer Khaleel Ahmed for the last one year was one of the primary reasons for his non-selection. Now that Khaleel has been dropped, Umesh will be looking to have an impressive showing and make a strong case for the fourth pacer slot in the WC squad.

Chahal will be a like for like replacement for his rested bowling partner Kuldeep Yadav in the playing XI.

India's expected playing XI for the 1st T20I

Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli(C), Vijay Shankar, Rishabh Pant, MS Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav, and Yuzvendra Chahal.

Published 17 Feb 2019, 17:06 IST
Fetching more content...