Write & Earn
Notifications

James Anderson receives official reprimand from ICC for disrespect to umpire

Herath was thorn in England's side, and James Anderson had to retaliate. His actions have landed him in trouble though

Rangana Herath and James Anderson had an interesting contest on the 3rd Day at Lord’s

James Anderson of England has received an official reprimand for breaching the ICC Code of Conduct for what he did during the third day’s play at The Lord’s against Sri Lanka. The fast bowler was found to have violated Level 1 Article 2.1.1 , pertaining to “conduct that is contrary to the spirit of the game.” The charge was slapped because of disrespect towards umpire S. Ravi, who had told Anderson to stop talking to the batsman at the crease.

All Level 1 breaches carry a minimum penalty of a warning/reprimand and/or the imposition of a fine of up to 50 per cent of the applicable match fee. 

The charge had been laid by the on-field umpires S.Ravi and Rod Tucker, as well as third umpire Aleem Dar and fourth umpire Michael Gough. Anderson accepted his offence and there was no need for a formal hearing.

The incident occurred during Sri Lanka's seventh-wicket stand, with Rangana Herath defying Anderson and Stuart Broad’s new ball spell with a flurry of fours. Herath and Kusal Perera put up a 71-run partnership in the second session, frustrating England.

The 85th over of the Lankan innings was a very eventful one. Alastair Cook got hit on the knee at silly point, and had to taken for an X-ray scan. The next ball of the over was served up wide and short by Anderson, and Herath obliged by slashing it through backward point.

Michael Holding was to remark a few overs later about Herath, “He’s a thorn in England’s side,” as the tail-ender continued in his attacking approach, hitting consecutive fours of Stuart Broad in the very next over. He had become a thorn in Anderson’s side as well, and there was something said by the bowler.

All Herath returned was an icy cold glare. The exchange between batsman and bowler is not known and neither is the one between Anderson and umpire S Ravi, but there was a long conversation between umpires and Joe Root, the stand-in captain, between the two overs.

Fetching more content...