Favorites Edit

ICC admits to umpiring error in ruling James Anderson run out against Australia

Alagappan V
18.78K   //    14 Feb 2015, 18:33 IST
James Taylor of England waits for the umpires decision on the final wicket during the 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup match between England and Australia at Melbourne Cricket Ground on February 14, 2015 in Melbourne, Australia.

England batsman James Taylor was controversially denied his maiden international century in the ICC Cricket World Cup Pool A game against Australia, which his team lost by 111 runs at Melbourne today. Batting on 98*, with the scoreboard reading 231/9, Taylor was declared out LBW off the bowling of Josh Hazlewood by umpire Aleem Dar; however, upon review, the decision was overturned, as the ball had struck him outside leg. 

The 25-year-old, who saved his team from embarrassment by putting together a 92-run partnership with Chris Woakes for the seventh wicket and then took his team past the 200-run mark in a chase of 343, was still deprived off reaching the three-figure mark, courtesy umpire Kumar Dharmasena who ruled Taylor’s partner James Anderson run out. (Watch the incident here.)

The players had taken off for a run as Dar took his time to raise his finger. Glenn Maxwell, stationed at point, released the ball, which hit the stumps at the batsman’s end. While Anderson was short of the crease, the ball, according to the ICC rules, was dead and, therefore, cannot claim the dismissal of a batsman. The umpires, however, were unaware of the fact and stood by their decision. 

Taylor has 5 fifties in the 12 ODI matches that he has represented his country in so far. Following the conclusion of the match, the ICC released a statement admitting to the mistake from its end. It said: “Following Australia’s 111-run victory over England in the Group A ICC Cricket World Cup clash at Melbourne Cricket Ground on Saturday night, the Playing Control Team (PCT) met and reviewed the final ball of the game which resulted in James Anderson being given run out. 

“Article 3.6a of Appendix 6 of the Decision Review System (DRS) Playing Conditions states that the ball should have been deemed dead when the batsman (James Taylor) was given out leg before wicket (lbw). No further runs or dismissals were possible. The PCT spoke to the England team management and acknowledges that the game ended incorrectly and an error was made.”

Topics you might be interested in:
Alagappan V
Cricket deserves a Jose Mourinho!
Fetching more content...