Favorites Edit

Stats: When two centuries were scored in a losing cause in ODIs

Roy Dilawer
5.95K   //    21 Jan 2016, 09:23 IST
dhawan kohli
Dhawan and Kohli both scored centuries but India lost the match

In the 4th ODI between India and Australia, Indian batsmen Virat Kohli and Shikhar Dhawan scored centuries. Unfortunately, the twin hundreds by the two batsmen were not able to win the match for them. It was hard to believe that India went on to lose the game despite centuries from these two players.

Sachin, and now Rohit are quite infamous for their centuries ending on sad notes. However, Shikar Dhawan and Virat Kohli have been quite successful in tilting the balance of match in the favour of their team when they cross the triple figures.

Shikhar Dhawan had scored 8 tons before this one, and not a single among them failed him and his team. Virat Kohli, on the other hand, has scored 25 hundreds now and it was only his 4th hundred which could not win the game for his team.

Interestingly, three of his four centuries which ended on dismal note have come in January, and all the three matches either took place in Australia or New Zealand. His two hundreds while chasing have come on 19th and 20th day of the month, while other two when India batted first, came on 16th and 17th day of the month. Both of his hundreds in losing cause had exactly 11 boundaries. 

So when two players, who when score individual centuries, see their team winning more often than not, fail to end on the victorious side despite making hundreds in the same innings is indeed hard to believe. This somehow reminds us of the match in Sydney between Australia and India where Yuvraj and Laxman scored centuries and yet could not win the game for their side.

What generally happens is that the team winning does not make a single century and yet the two centuries from the opposition go in vain. This happens because the whole team contributes to the winning effort while the losing sides on most occasions fall apart after the two centurions depart. This was what we witnessed yesterday. 

Let us now see how often two batsmen from the same team have scored centuries in the same ODI and yet were not able to win the match for their team. It took more than 11 years from the time first ODI was played to witness such an incident.

For the first time, it happened in a match between the traditional rivals i.e. Pakistan and India. Since then, it happened only 23 times including the hundreds of Dhawan and Kohli.

 BatsmenRunsBallsStrike RateAgainst TeamGroundDate
1Zaheer Abbas (Pak)10582128.04 IndiaLahore31-Dec-82
Javed Miandad (Pak)119*77154.54
2GR Marsh (Aus)10413974.82 IndiaJaipur7-Sep-86
DC Boon (Aus)11111894.06
3RJ Shastri (India)10914973.15 South AfricaNew Delhi14-Nov-91
SV Manjrekar (India)10582128.04
4M Azharuddin (India)111*11794.87 Sri LankaColombo (RPS)17-Aug-97
A Jadeja (India)11912198.34
5Saeed Anwar (Pak)140132106.06 IndiaDhaka18-Jan-98
Ijaz Ahmed (Pak)117112104.46
6Ijaz Ahmed (Pak)111109101.83 AustraliaLahore10-Nov-98
Mohammad Yousuf (Pak)10011190.09
7G Kirsten (SA)11512393.49 IndiaKochi9-Mar-00
HH Gibbs (SA)11112787.4
8SC Ganguly (India)127126100.79 South AfricaJohannesburg5-Oct-01
SR Tendulkar (India)10112978.29
9ME Trescothick (Eng)109100109 IndiaLord's13-Jul-02
N Hussain (Eng)11512889.84
10VVS Laxman (India)106*13081.53 AustraliaSydney22-Jan-04
Yuvraj Singh (India)139122113.93
11SV Carlisle (Zim)10912885.15 IndiaAdelaide24-Jan-04
SM Ervine (Zim)100100100
12AJ Strauss (Eng)10011686.2 West IndiesLord's6-Jul-04
A Flintoff (Eng)123104118.26
13G Gambhir (India)10397106.18 Sri LankaAhmedabad6-Nov-05
R Dravid (India)103*12085.83
14CH Gayle (WI)10112878.9 EnglandAhmedabad28-Oct-06
DJ Bravo (WI)112*12490.32
15WTS Porterfield (Ire)104*12980.62KenyaNairobi (Ruaraka)2-Feb-07
KJ O'Brien (Ire)142125113.6
16GM Hamilton (Scot)11915278.28 CanadaAberdeen7-Jul-09
DF Watts (Scot)10110893.51
17LRPL Taylor (NZ)11912694.44 ZimbabweBulawayo25-Oct-11
KS Williamson (NZ)100*69144.92
18GC Smith (SA)12514387.41 Sri LankaJohannesburg22-Jan-12
AB de Villiers (SA)125*98127.55
19TM Dilshan (SL)160*16596.96 IndiaHobart28-Feb-12
KC Sangakkara (SL)10587120.68
20DA Warner (Aus)10014071.42 Sri LankaAdelaide6-Mar-12
MJ Clarke (Aus)11791128.57
21Mohammad Hafeez (Pak)10511392.92 IndiaDhaka18-Mar-12
Nasir Jamshed (Pak)112104107.69
22SR Watson (Aus)10294108.51 IndiaNagpur30-Oct-13
GJ Bailey (Aus)156114136.84
23S Dhawan (India)126113111.5 AustraliaCanberra20-Jan-16
V Kohli (India)10692115.21

- Before 2000, there were only 5 such instances. Since 2000, there have been 18 such occasions.

- The last such incident also came in an Aus-India match; It was played in 2013 at Nagpur when centuries from Watson and Bailey went in vain.

- First 7 occurrences were on Asian grounds and then next 5 were out of Asia.

- The first 5 instances had India either on the receiving end or on the winning side.

- 15 Times India has been involved in such happenings with 6 on the losing side and 9 on the winning side.

- 3 Times Australia have won such a game and lost it 3 times.

- Pakistan has never won a game when two batsmen make centuries against them. They have lost it on four occasions though despite two of their batsmen scoring centuries.

- 2 times this has happened at the grounds of each of these; Adelaide, Lahore, Dhaka and Ahmedabad, which is the joint-most.

- 4 times it happened in 2012 which is the most for a single calendar year.

- Twice it has happened two times in a single series - both times it was a triangular series in Australia, and it involved India. (VB Series 2004, Commonwealth Bank Series 2012)

    Topics you might be interested in:
    Roy Dilawer
    A law graduate by education, and a writer by interest and a cricket fan by all means.
    Fetching more content...