⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

Test Victories over Australia which changed the mindset of Indian Cricket

Eshaan Joshi
Top 5 / Top 10
Modified 20 Dec 2019, 20:49 IST

India claimed the Border-Gavaskar Trophy with a 4-0 whitewash
India claimed the Border-Gavaskar Trophy with a 4-0 whitewash

India vs Australia, This has been a saga of fierce competition, at times, which has gone beyond the on-field game. Both the sides have been lethally dominant at home, and have always aspired to conquer the series in foreign soil. India has been the more successful side in the Border-Gavaskar Trophy, winning it nine times, and has pulled off some sensational, unreal wins over the Aussies, many of which signified the start of a new era in Indian cricket.

Let's have a recap to such wins, which signified a change in the mindset of Indian cricket:

#6 4-0 whitewash in the Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2013

Australia were the holders of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy before the tour, having whitewashed India 4-0 back in 2011-12. However, this time around, it proved to be sweet revenge for the Indians, as a spirited side under MS Dhoni returned the favour in a similar fashion.

In the first Test, it was MS Dhoni who rescued India from a precarious situation, playing an innings of a lifetime, as he smashed the Australian bowlers all around the park in the scorching heat of Chennai. He scored a thunderous 224, recording the highest score by an Indian captain back then.

The second game saw Australia becoming the first team to lose the match by an innings after having declared in the first innings. The third game was about the sheer audacity of Shikhar Dhawan, who raced to the fastest century on debut, as India pocketed the match after the play was abandoned on the first day. The fourth game saw India complete a historic whitewash over the Aussies.

The most special thing about the victory was that the fightbacks in the matches were led by then youngsters Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Ravindra Jadeja. India inflicted a whitewash on the Kangaroos, their first in the red ball format in 43 years.

1 / 6 NEXT
Published 08 Jan 2019, 16:02 IST
Fetching more content...