Favorites Edit

Top 5 performers from the India vs New Zealand Test series

Top 5 / Top 10
1.56K   //    11 Oct 2016, 19:24 IST
Indian Cricket team
The Virat Kohli-led team won all three Tests against New Zealand (Image Courtesy:

With India set to play 13 Test matches in the long home season, they are off to a rollicking start as they whitewashed the Kiwis 3-0 and regained their no.1 position in the ICC Test rankings. While the visitors looked upbeat to provide a stiff competition against the hosts, the end result was a mere disappointment. 

Despite the outcome, there was some quality cricket played by both the sides which turned out to be a visual treat for the fans. Though the end result reads 3-0, New Zealand had their moments in the first two matches to put India under the pump, but they couldn’t capitalise on the situation.

Also Read: 5 talking points from the third Test between India and New Zealand at Indore

The Test series between these two sides witnessed some stellar individual performances from players from both sides.  

Here are the top five performers of the India-New Zealand series.

Cheteshwar Pujara

Cheteshwar Pujara
Pujara is back in form for India

Any cricket fan would be happy seeing Pujara performing to his utmost potential and that was certainly the case in this series. Under pressure to perform and to cement his place in the no.3 position, the 28-year-old stood up to the occasion and performed consistently throughout the series.

His short stint with the India Blue side in the Duleep trophy helped him regain his form and the Saurashtrian carried that to the national side.

The right-hander finished the series with 373 to his name which included three half-centuries and a century. Pujara was the vital cog during the second Test where he weathered the storm and scored a brilliant 87 on a tricky wicket, after India were down for 46-3.

The 28-year-old combined with Rahane to put on a terrific partnership which saw India go past 300. Pujara created a significant impact along with the likes of Rohit Sharma and Wriddhiman Saha which allowed India to clinch the series in Kolkata.

1 / 5 NEXT
Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...