⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

9 World Champions who never won the Monaco Grand Prix

Top 5 / Top 10

Monaco Grand Prix
Monaco Grand Prix

Since the Circuit de Monaco's inaugural race in 1929, this track has been one of the most prestigious tracks, and one of the most difficult races to win.

This narrow course laid down in the streets of Monaco, with several variations in elevation and many tight corners, makes it one of the most demanding tracks in Formula 1 and is a threat to any professional race driver.

But, due to very limited opportunities and space to overtake, the Monaco Grand Prix can also be the "most boring race" (as described by Lewis Hamilton and Fernando Alonso).

Since the first F1 race in 1953, the Monaco Grand Prix has had many famous winners. Ayrton Senna, the legendary Brazillian has won the most number of races (6), and McLaren have been the successful team, here in Monaco.

But, there are a few notable former World Champions who have never been successful at Monaco. Let's take a look at 9 World Champions who have failed to win at Monaco even once:

#9 Nigel Mansell

Nigel Mansell driving a Williams car
Nigel Mansell driving a Williams car

The English F1 driver, won the World Championship in 1992, driving for Williams, during the final years of his career. He retired immediately after becoming the Champion, only to return a year later.

Mansell has the 7th most number of wins (31), in the history of the sport, but none of them came at Monaco. The closest he came was in 1987 and 1992. In 1987, the Brit was in pole position almost halfway into the race but, retired shortly after an engine failure.

In 1992, Mansell was dominating the race, until a puncture to his tire forced him to make a late pit stop. He was behind Ayrton Senna in the latter part of the race, and due to limited opportunities to overtake, he finished the race behind Senna.

1 / 5 NEXT
Fetching more content...