New User posted their first comment

All you need to know about the Monaco Grand Prix

Modified 24 May 2014

As we head into the first street-race track of the year, let us take a closer look at everything we need to know about the Monaco Grand Prix. Do you know the first home-grown driver to claim a podium position at the Monaco Grand Prix? Do you know when the first Grand Prix was held in the Principality? For all this information and so much more, just read on.

Circuit: Circuit de MonacoCircuit length: 3.340 kmNumber of corners: 19 (7 left, 12 right)DRS zones: 1 (Between Turns 19 and 1)Race laps: 78Race distance: 260.520 km2014 tyre compounds: Soft, Super SoftCircuit lap record: 1m 14.439s - Michael Schumacher (2004), Ferrari

About the Circuit

Arguably the most glamorous race track in the entire calendar, the track is one of the very few to pre-date the era of Formula One. Since hosting it’s very first race in 1950, the picturesque circuit has hosted 60 Grands Prix since then and is the only Grand Prix that does not adhere to the FIA's mandated 305 kilometers (190 mi) minimum race distance.

With its tight and twisty track, this Grand Prix has the lowest average speed, the lowest average corner speed and the lowest top speed of all the circuits in the calendar year. Even though it is low on speed, it is high on action, and is considered one of the most dangerous tracks in the entire Formula One calendar.


- The race marks the completion of a quarter of the Grand Prix in this year’s calendar.
- Only 27 of the 60 races (45%) have been won from pole position.
- In the current field, Jenson Button (13) has made the most appearances on this track, whilst Fernando Alonso is second with 12 appearances; both Raikonnen and Massa have started 11 times.
- Ayrton Senna holds the record for the most wins all-time on this track with 6, while amongst active drivers, Alonso is the only driver with two wins.
- McLaren has the most pole positions on this track (11) and it is Ayrton Senna who leads the drivers, with 5 pole positions.
- McLaren also have the most wins with 15, having converted every single pole position into victory.
- The lowest grid position from which a driver has won the race is 14th. It is Oliver Panis, who holds that record having won the 1996 Monaco Grand Prix having started way back in 14th place.
- Amongst the current field, Alonso has led the most laps on this track with 153, with Button a distant second with 93.
- Alonso has the most podium finishes in the current field, 4, and it is a three-way tie for second spot between Raikonnen, Button and Vettel who all have 3.
- Nine of the last 14 races have had at least a single safety car appearance.
- Although Lewis Hamilton comes into this race with three-straight wins, he has never won at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya.
- The inaugural Grand Prix here was won by Juan Manuel Fangio of Alfa Romeo in 1950
- Only two Monegasque drivers have started the Monaco Grand Prix and it is Louis Chiron who holds the record for the best finish by a home-grown driver courtesy of his 3rd place in the inaugural Monaco Grand Prix in 1950
- Louis Chiron is the oldest person to start an F1 race. He was 55 years and 292 days old when finished sixth in the 1955 Monaco Grand Prix.
- Ferrari have now gone 72 consecutive races in the points, whilst Nico Rosberg has 14 consecutive races in the points.
- With 24 consecutive classified finishes since his debut in 2013, Max Chilton will be looking to continue his record.
- Lewis Hamilton has won the last four races on the trot and Nico Rosberg made it four consecutive one-two finishes after the Spanish Grand Prix.
- Should a Renault-powered car win the race, it will be the first Renault turbo victory since the 1986 Detroit Grand Prix. Similarly, if a Ferrari-powered car wins the race it’ll be the first Ferrari turbo win since the 1988 Italian Grand Prix.

Published 24 May 2014, 00:58 IST
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now