Write & Earn

Italian Grand Prix 2015: Lewis Hamilton takes second victory in a row

Sebastian Vettel of Ferrari in 2nd, with Felipe Massa of Williams in 3rd at the Italian Grand Prix as stewards investigate tyre pressure issues.

Lewis Hamilton took victory at the Italian Grand Prix with Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel in P2 and Williams’ Massa in P3

Mercedes driver Lewis Hamilton, the polesitter at the 2015 Italian Grand Prix, has won the race in effortless fashion. The Briton, who won the 2014 race at Monza as well, had started that Grand Prix in pole position also.

Home team Scuderia Ferrari had a disappointing race. While 4-time champion world champion Sebastian Vettel took 2nd at the race, he was 26 seconds behind race leader Hamilton. Teammate Kimi Raikkonen, who started in P2, had a shocker of a late start, going as low as P17 early in the race. He came back with a blinder to finish in 5th. 

Hamilton’s Mercedes teammate Nico Rosberg, who did not receive the upgrades his British teammate was using, had an old power unit and looked poised for P3 at the race. 

Inside of the last 5 laps of the race, however, the back of Rosberg’s car caught fire, with flames and smoke coming out of his exhaust. He would retire with a lap to go. 

The Williams of Felipe Massa and Valtteri Bottas, in P4 and P5 behind Rosberg, got the immediate advantage, with Massa moving up to a podium spot and finishing the race in 3rd. 

Raikkonen appears to have had a steering issue that led to his very late start, but the 2007 World Champion rallied back for a top 5 finish, doubtless pleasing home fans. 

McLaren’s Fernando Alonso also retired late in the race as the team’s low F1 season continued. 

Lotus, following a rush of good luck at Spa-Francorchamps two weeks ago with Romain Grosjean’s podium finish, were extremely unlucky this race, with both their drivers – Grosjean and teammate Pastor Maldonado – retiring inside of the first 10 laps.

17-year-old Max Verstappen, who began the race from the back with grid penalties and also served drive-through penalties, moved up to finish in 12th. 

Force India had a strong finish, with both drivers  – Sergio Perez and Nico Hulkenberg – finishing relatively high in the points, at P6 and P7 respectively. Both Red Bull cars also finished in the top 10, with Daniel Ricciardo in 8th and teammate Kvyat in 10th. 

The Manor-Marussias of Will Stevens and Roberto Merhi finished at the bottom of the grid. 

This win means Lewis Hamilton increases his hold over the drivers’ championship. If he does, it will be his second in a row and third overall; he first won the World Drivers’ Championship in 2008 with McLaren-Mercedes. Hamilton is the only driver apart from his British compatriot, 1996 world champion Damon Hill, to take back-to-back victories at Monza. Hill won in 1993 and 1994. 

NOTE: Following the race, Mercedes drivers Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg were both under investigation for being below the minimum tyre pressure mandated for F1 cars. After investigations concluded, stewards decided to take “no further action” against the Mercedes driver, who could have been disqualified.

Lewis Hamilton remains the winner of the Italian Grand Prix.

Fetching more content...