Write & Earn
Favorites Edit

Nico Rosberg wins the Monaco GP for third year in row

1.30K   //    24 May 2015, 22:04 IST
Rosberg Vettel and Hamilton
Rosberg being chased by Vettel and Hamilton in the closing stages of the race

Monaco, May 24 (IANS)

Mercedes driver Nico Rosberg won the prestigious Formula 1 Monaco Grand Prix at the 3.337 km Circuit de Monaco here on Sunday, claiming his third straight win in the principality.

Ferrari's Sebastian Vettel of Germany finished second place while Rosberg's British teammate Lewis Hamilton took third place in the 78-lap race, reports Efe.

Rosberg took advantage of the decision of his team to have Hamilton, who is currently leading the drivers' standings and was dominating the race, make a pit stop for a tyre change just 10 laps the finish while the safety car was on the track.

The Brit trailed Rosberg and Vettel when he returned to the track and was unable to take first place. Hamilton remains the leader in the standings with 126 points while Rosberg has 116 points and Vettel 98.

McLaren's Fernando Alonso dropped out of the race in lap 43 due to a transmission problem.

Fetching more content...