Write & Earn
Favorites Edit

10 Goals of the Year for the FIFA Puskas Award

On January 7th 2013, the FIFA Puskas award will be given to the player who scored the best goal in...

News 17 Nov 2012, 08:40 IST

LONDON, ENGLAND – AUGUST 11: Neymar of Brazil (R) controls the ball under pressure from Jorge Enriquez of Mexico during the Men’s Football Final between Brazil and Mexico on Day 15 of the London 2012 Olympic Games at Wembley Stadium on August 11, 2012 in London, England.

On January 7th 2013, the FIFA Puskas award will be given to the player who scored the best goal in 2012. The award is based on the Hungarian Ferenc Puskás, the legendary striker who represented the Real Madrid team of 1950’s and was once, a world record holder of highest number of goals scored for a country – 84 in 85 games.

The list of the top ten goals of the year is:

Ghanaian – Emmanuel Agyemang Badu (Ghana – Guinea, 1 February 2012)

French - Hatem Ben Arfa (Newcastle United – Blackburn Rovers, 7 January 2012)

Colombian - Radamel Falcao (América de Cali – Atletico Madrid, 19 May 2012)

French – Eric Hassli (Vancouver Whitecaps – Toronto FC, 16 May 2012)

Mexican – Olivia Jimenez (Mexico – Switzerland, 22 August 12)

The only female athlete on the list

Bolivian - Gastón Mealla (Nacional Potosí – The Strongest, 29 January 2012)

Argentinean - Lionel Messi (Brazil – Argentina, 9 June 2012)

Brazillian – Neymar (Santos – Internacional, 7 March 2012)

Senegalese - Moussa Sow (Fenerbahce – Galatasaray , 17 March 2012)

Slovakian - Miroslav Stoch (Fenerbahçe – Gençlerbirli?i, 3 March 2012)

You can go to the 2012 FIFA Puskás award site and start voting (until 29th November) who you think scored the best in 2012.

The top three goals with the most votes from 29th November onwards, will then be up for a second vote, which is when you can go in and pick your favorite again  (until 7th January, 2013).

Who do you think deserves the award?

Fetching more content...