Favorites Edit

Newcastle United Football


Newcastle United Football Club is an English professional association football club based in Newcastle. The club's origin dates back to 1892 when the clubs Newcastle East End and Newcastle West End were merged to form one club. The play their home matches in St James' Park. The club has never dropped below English football's second tier since joining the Football League in 1893. Also, the club has been a member of the Premier League for most part of the competition's history except for two years. In 2007, a part of the club's shares belonging to Sir John Hall was sold off to Mike Ashley. They have been locked in a fierce rivalry with Sunderland. The two clubs have engaged in the Tyne–Wear derby since 1898.   They have won four League Championship titles and six FA Cups, as well as the 1969 Inter-Cities Fairs Cup and the 2006 UEFA Intertoto Cup. Newcastle United has the ninth highest total of major honours won by an English club. The club's most successful period was between 1904 and 1910, when they won an FA Cup and three of their First Division titles. Some of the club's most prolific players are Steven Taylor, Shola Ameobi, Danny Simpson, Yohan Cabaye, Fabricio Coloccini, Ryan Taylor etc
Fetching more content...