FIFA World Cup Winners

The FIFA World Cup is a quadrennial football tournament contested by the men's football team of the international associations. The first edition of the tournament was held in the year 1930 and has been played every four years since then (except 1942 and 1946). While Uruguay won in 1930, Germany are the current football world cup winners. Below is the list of all the past world cup winners.

YearHost NationWinnerRunner upFinal ScoreNumber of Teams
1934ItalyItalyCzechoslovakia2-1 16
1954SwitzerlandWest GermanyHungary3-216
1966EnglandEnglandWest Germany4-216
1974West GermanyWest GermanyNetherlands2-116
1982SpainItalyWest Germany3-124
1986MexicoArgentinaWest Germany3-224
1990ItalyWest GermanyArgentina1-024
1994USABrazilItaly0-0 (3-2) 24
2002South Korea/JapanBrazilGermany2-032
2006GermanyItalyFrance1-1 (5-3)32
2010South AfricaSpainNetherlands1-032

Frequently asked questions:

1. When was the first world cup held?'

The first FIFA World Cup was held in the year 1930, with Uruguay emerging as the champions.

2. Who won the last World Cup?

France won the last Football World Cup which was held in 2018 at Russia. Les Bleus defeated Croatia 4-2 in the final to lift their 2 ever FIFA World Cup.

3. When is the next world cup?

The world cup 2022 will be the next FIFA World Cup and will be held in Qatar in the year 2022. It will be the 22nd edition of the tournament and is officially known as Qatar World Cup.

4. Who has won the most world cups?

Brazil. The South American team has won the FIFA World Cup five times (1958, 1962, 1970, 1994, and 2002).