World Cup Teams Eliminated

Last Modified Feb 02, 2023 11:35 GMT

The FIFA World Cup is back this year and all 32 teams have been decided. The final draws were released on 1st April, 2022 and now all 32 teams are accounted for. Teams from all over the world have qualified for the 2022 FIFA World Cup through different qualifiers.

How Many World Cup Teams Got Eliminated?

The teams which are in bold qualified for the 2022 FIFA World Cup:


Group A: Portugal, Serbia, Republic of Ireland, Luxembourg, Azerbaijan

Group B: Spain, Sweden, Greece, Georgia, Kosovo

Group C: Italy, Switzerland, Northern Ireland, Bulgaria, Lithuania

Group D: France, Ukraine, Finland, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kazakhstan

Group E: Belgium, Wales, Czech Republic, Belarus, Estonia

Group F: Denmark, Austria, Scotland, Israel, Faroe Islands, Moldova

Group G: Netherlands, Turkey, Norway, Montenegro, Latvia, Gibraltar

Group H: Croatia, Slovakia, Russia, Slovenia, Cyprus, Malta

Group I: England, Poland, Hungary, Albania, Andorra, San Marino

Group J: Germany, Romania, Iceland, North Macedonia, Armenia, Liechtenstein



Scotland 1-3 Ukraine (delayed to June 1)

Wales 2-1 Austria


Wales won 1-0 at home to Ukraine in the final to qualify for the World Cup.



Russia vs. Poland (walkover to Poland)

Sweden 1-0 Czech Republic


Poland won 2-0 at home to Sweden in the final to qualify for the World Cup.



Italy 0-1 North Macedonia

Portugal 3-1 Turkey


Portugal won 2-0 at home to North Macedonia to qualify for the World Cup.

CONMEBOL(South America)


The top 4 teams qualified for the World Cup while the 5th placed Peru went to the intercontinental playoffs.

CONCACAF (North America, Central America, Caribbean)

Round 1:

Group A: El Salvador, Antigua and Barbuda, Grenada, Montserrat, US Virgin Islands

Group B: Canada,Suriname, Bermuda, Cayman Islands, Aruba

Group C: Curaçao, Guatemala, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Cuba, British Virgin Islands

Group D: Panama, Dominican Republic, Barbados, Dominica, Anguilla

Group E: Haiti, Nicaragua, Belize, St Lucia (withdrew), Turks and Caicos Islands

Group F: Trinidad and Tobago, St Kitts and Nevis, Guyana, Puerto Rico, Bahamas

Round 2:

Saint Kitts and Nevis (F) 0-6 El Salvador (A)

Haiti (E) 0-4 Canada (B)

Panama (D) 2-1 Curacao (C)

Round 3: Canada, El Salvador and Panama joined Costa Rica, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, and United States. Canada, Mexico, and United States qualified for the World Cup while Costa Rica went into playoffs through which they qualified for the World Cup as well.


Group A: IR Iran, South Korea, United Arab Emirates, Iraq, Syria, Lebanon

Group B: Japan, Australia, Saudi Arabia, China, Oman, Vietnam

United Arab Emirates and Australia both came third. They met in a one match playoff which Australia won to advance to the intercontinental playoff vs Peru.


Group A: China, Syria, Philippines, Maldives, Guam

Group B: Australia, Jordan, Chinese Taipei, Kuwait, Nepal

Group C: IR Iran, Iraq, Bahrain, Hong Kong, Cambodia

Group D: Saudi Arabia, Uzbekistan, Palestine, Yemen, Singapore

Group E: Bangladesh, Oman, India, Afghanistan, Qatar

Group F: Japan, Kyrgyz Republic, Tajikistan, Myanmar, Mongolia

Group G: United Arab Emirates, Vietnam, Thailand, Malaysia, Indonesia

Group H: South Korea, Lebanon, North Korea (withdrew), Turkmenistan, Sri Lanka

Final Round:

Cameroon vs. Algeria (agg 2-2; Cameroon win on away goals)

DR Congo vs. Morocco (agg 2-5)

Egypt vs. Senegal (agg 1-1; Senegal won 3-1 on penalties)

Ghana vs. Nigeria (agg 1-1; Ghana won on away goals)

Mali vs. Tunisia (agg 0-1)


Round 1: Cook Islands received a bye against Tonga

Round 2:

Vanuatu and Cook Islands had to withdraw leaving only 2 teams in Group A.

Group A: Solomon Islands, Tahiti

Group B: New Zealand, New Caledonia, Fiji, Papua New Guinea

Round 3:

New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands and Tahiti qualified, from which New Zealand won the playoffs to qualify forthe intercontinental playoffs against Costa Rica.

Intercontinental Playoffs

Australia (AFC) 0(5) vs. 0(4) Peru (CONMEBOL)

Costa Rica (CONCACAF) 1 vs. 0 New Zealand (OFC)

What Qualifies A Team For World Cup?


The UEFA confederation's qualification took place from March to November 2021. 55 nations fought in 10 groups to see who would advance to the FIFA World Cup in 2022. The top 10 finishers received direct entry into the FIFA World Cup, while the two best-ranked teams from the UEFA Nations League that did not make it into the World Cup get a second chance to do so via playoffs.

The winner of each of the three pathways qualified for the 2022 FIFA World Cup.

CONCACAF (North America, Central America, Caribbean)

Competitors from teams placed 6-35 compete in 6 distinct groups of five. The six winners advance to the following round. The three winners go to the championship round after the six winners play home and away games in an elimination style.

These 3 teams then combine with the teams in positions 1 through 5, playing a home game and a road game against each team for a total of 14 matches. The top three teams in this round advance directly to the 2022 FIFA World Cup, while the fourth-place team will compete in an international playoff match to settle their fate.

CONMEBOL (South America)

Ten nations compete against one another both at home and abroad. The top four teams advance to the FIFA World Cup, while the fifth-place team faces the winner of the AFC playoffs in an intercontinental playoff to determine who advances to the World Cup.


Two-leg matches amongst the 28 teams with the lowest rankings take place. The 14 winners then play on teams with the other 26. Each of these 10 groups of four teams—made up of these 40 teams—winners advance to the next round.

These 10 teams compete against one another in five distinct best-of-two matches in the championship round, with the victor qualifying for the World Cup.


Two-leg matches amongst the 12 teams with the lowest rankings take place. After that, the six winners join the other 34 teams. Then, these 40 teams are split up into 5 groups, each with 8 teams. Since Qatar is the host nation this year and has already qualified directly for the 2022 FIFA World Cup, the top 7 group winners, along with the 5 best runners-up, progressed to the championship round.

The 12 teams are split into two groups of six, with the group's winner and runner-up earning spots in the World Cup. The third-placed teams from each group play off, with the winner advancing to the international playoffs.


Playoff games pit the bottom two teams against one another. The winning team then joins the other 7 teams, which are divided into 2 groups of 4. The top two teams from each group advance to the championship round. The victor of the semi-final and final matches amongst the last four teams advances to the international playoffs.

Intercontinental Playoffs