Favorites Edit

ISL Past Winners

A new era had begun for Indian football followers, when the Indian Super League was launched amidst heavy doses of fanfare and media attention in Kolkata. ISL’s first season was quite a buzz, appealing to the people within the country and globally as well. After four successful seasons, ISL is all set to kick start its fifth season with ATK gearing up against Kerala Blasters on Saturday, September 29 in Kolkata.

That being said, let’s take a quick sneak peak at the winners of the last four seasons.

SeasonWinnersScoreRunners Up
2018-19Bengaluru FC1-0FC Goa
2017-18Chennaiyin FC3-2Bengaluru FC
2016-17Atlético de Kolkata1-1(4-3) pen.Kerala Blasters
2015-16Chennaiyin FC3-2FC Goa
2014-15Atlético de Kolkata1-0Kerala Blasters

ISL 2014 Winner: Atletico de Kolkata

With two Indian cricket legends pitted against each other, the finals of the inaugural season saw a massive adrenaline rush among the players and the fans. It was an evenly contested final with Kerala Blasters FC facing off against the Kolkata franchise at Mumbai’s DY Patil stadium. The finals took a steep turn when Mohammed Rafique scored for Atletico de Kolkata in the last minute landing the trophy of the first season in the hands of Kolkata.

ISL 2015 Winner: Chennaiyin FC

The final clash between FC Goa and Chennaiyin FC was a treat to the spectators for being able to cheer for their home team at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Fatorda. But Bruno Pelissari silenced the crowd with the finale’s first goal in the 54th minute. The crowd went deranged as Joffre put the home team in front in the 87th minute raising hopes of a title triumph. However, with an own goal from Kattimani and an opportunistic goal from Mendoza seconds later saw Chennaiyin FC claim the thrilling victory.

ISL 2016 Winner: Atletico de Kolkata

It was a moment of déjà vu, and another moment to relive the Sachin vs. Sourav rivalry with Kerala against Kolkata. Mohd. Rafi put the Blasters in the lead but even before the first half ended ATK gave them a rude reality check as Henrique Sereno found the back of the net making it a tie.

The Blasters had just gone through a similar situation in the national capital, but on home soil they faltered and Jewel Raja did not hesitate in putting the seal on the final result handing ATK the title once again with a 4-3 win the penalty shootouts.

ISL 2017 Winner: Chennaiyin FC

Bengaluru FC, despite storming through the league stage and semi-final, lost the ISL final to Chennaiyin 3-2 on 17th March. Sunil Chhetri gave Bengaluru the lead in the opening 10 minutes. However, Mailson Alves levelled things for his side in the 17th minute followed by another, giving Chennaiyin the advantage at half-time. Augusto’s delicious finish from the edge of the box in the 67th minute put the match beyond Bengaluru’s reach and although Miku pulled one back in stoppage time, it proved to be a mere consolation.

ISL 2018 Winner: Bengaluru FC

Bengaluru FC conquered their demons to edge FC Goa 1-0 in extra time and seal their maiden ISL trophy at the Mumbai Football Arena. The Blues were again the dominant side in the ISL but they came up against Goa in what was a clash of equals. Rahul Bheke scored off a header in extra time to win it for Bengaluru.

Fetching more content...