ISL Top Scorer 2022-23

Dimitri Petratos 23 (0) 12 7 2091
Diego Mauricio 21 (0) 12 4 1535
Cleiton Silva 20 (0) 12 1 1773
Jorge Pereyra Diaz 20 (0) 11 7 1507
Bartholomew Ogbeche 21 (0) 11 2 1614
Iker Guarrotxena 20 (0) 11 0 1693
Lallianzuala Chhangte 22 (0) 10 6 1855
Dimitris Diamantakos 21 (0) 10 3 1756
Sadaoui Noah Wail 20 (0) 9 9 1463
Abdenasser El Khayati 12 (0) 9 5 574

The Indian Super League has seen a plethora of goals scored in the last six seasons. Fikru Teferra Lemessa opened the scoring in the league in the first game of the first season in 2014. Bipin Singh was the last goal scorer of the ISL in the 2020-21 season finale in Goa.

Top players from across the World have plied their trades in the league in the six seasons so far and have broken several records. Brazilian and Manchester City legend Elano Blumer took away the ISL Golden boot in the inaugural season by scoring 8 games. His exceptional on the ball and set-piece ability propelled Chennaiyin FC till the play-offs in 2014.

Here is the list of all top goal scorers in ISL history.

Chennaiyin FC’s John Steven Mendoza Valencia finished top of the scoring charts in the second season by scoring 13 goals. Mendoza’s goal scoring rate in the later stage of the tournament propelled Chennaiyin FC into the play-offs from the 8th place. The Marina Machans ended up winning the league riding on Mendoza’s goal scoring ability.

Delhi Dynamos (now defunct) finished third in the 2016 season aided by Brazilian striker Marcelinho. Marcelinho’s set-piece ability coupled by pace and precision allowed the former Atletico Madrid striker finish top of the scoring charts with 10 goals.

The arrival of Bengaluru FC and Jamshedpur FC in the 2017-18 season expanded ISL’s reach into newer territories and extended the duration of the league. FC Goa and Bengaluru FC looked the most prolific sides in the league as they finished first and second respectively. Bengaluru’s Miku scored 15 goals but that was not enough as Goa’s Ferran Corominas scored 18 goals and finished top of the scoring charts.

Corominas continued his goal scoring forae and finished top of the scoring charts for a second consecutive season. The Spaniard scored 16 goals and Goa finished second again in the league table.

The 2019-20 season saw an intense bit of competition for the ISL top scorers race. ATK’s Roy Krishna, Chennaiyin FC’s Nerijus Valskis and Kerala Blasters’ Bartholomew Ogbeche finished top of the scoring charts with 15 goals each. With a higher assist count and decent scoring rate, Valskis was awarded the ISL Top Scorer in the 2019-20 season.

Goa’s Corominas left the league at the end of the 2019-20 season with 48 goals in 57 games, making him the highest scorer in the league. India and Bengaluru FC captain Sunil Chhetri stands second with 39 goals in 74 games followed by Marcelinho (now with Odisha FC) scoring 31 goals in 63 games.

With East Bengal’s arrival in the 2022 season, the ISL season expanded to 110 games. The 2022 ISL fixtures is expected to witness more records being broken in the sphere of goal scoring.