New User posted their first comment

Michael Carrick in the running for North West Premier League Player of the Year award

Modified 22 Aug 2013, 19:54 IST


A shortlist of five players was announced for the annual North West Premier League Player of the Year award. The list includes Michael Carrick, Pablo Zabaleta, Jamie Carragher, Leighton Baines, and Shaun Maloney.

Carrick who won the Players’ Player of the Year award at Manchester United last season is the favourite to walk home with the award. Despite being in blistering form for their clubs last season both Robin Van Persie and Luis Suarez was overlooked by the panel for the shortlist.

Zabaleta meanwhile extended his contract with Manchester City by another four years recently and the nomination now comes as an icing on the cake for the fans.

The award is currently held by Liverpool’s Martin Skrtel, who also failed to make it into the list.

The awards will be announced on November 4 at the Lancashire County Cricket club.

Published 22 Aug 2013, 19:53 IST
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit