Wigan Athletic Football


Wigan Athletic Football Club is an English professional football club based in Wigan. They compete in the Premier League, the highest tier of English football. Wigan Athletic was formed in 1932 as a result of the fifth attempt to create a stable football club in the town. Wigan Athletic won its first honours in the 1933–34 season, finishing as champions of the Cheshire League.. In the following season, the club won a second league championship and also entered the FA Cup for the first time. In the 1935–36 season, the club won its third consecutive Cheshire League title and the Lancashire Junior Cup. The club's first ever Premier League game was a home match against champions Chelsea. A successful run followed, and by November Wigan Athletic were second in the league.. They have played at the DW Stadium since 1999.They previously played at Springfield Park for 67 years. The club's nickname is Latics, derived from a contraction of the word "Athletic". They are the current holders of the FA Cup. Some of the club's notable members include: James McCarthy, David Jones, Callum McManaman, Adrián López, James McArthur, Emmerson Boyce, Maynor Figueroa etc
Fetching more content...