Favorites Edit

UEFA announces 2015 Team of the Year

Anuj Gowda
16.72K   //    08 Jan 2016, 18:00 IST
Pogba makes his debut in UEFA’s coveted Team of the Year as Messi makes his 7th appearance

UEFA have announced their users’ Team of the Year for 2015 after more than 7 million fans voted on the website. With fans picking from a number of players on the website and on Twitter, the final XI has been announced as Barcelona dominated the squad with five players making a presence. 

Argentine and Barcelona superstar Lionel Messi was picked by an overwhelming 70% of the website users as his performances for the all-conquering Barca side did not go unnoticed. Also, it was Messi’s seventh appearance in UEFA’s year end Team of the Year.

Real Madrid icon Cristiano Ronaldo became the first player to be named in the distinguished list for a tenth time. Also, he is the only player to be nominated in two different positions on the field; as midfielder(2004, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010) and as a forward(2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015). He is also involved in the UEFA’s list for the ninth time in a row.

Barcelona’s Neymar, Real Madrid’s James Rodriguez and Juventus’ Paul Pogba made their debuts in this year’s team of the year as they took the all-time number of players to be selected to 74.

La Liga once again appeared to show its dominance in Europe as an astonishing eight of its players made it to the 11-man squad. The Bundesliga boasted of two players, Seria A with one and the Premier League’s humiliation was complete with none of its players making an appearance in the best team of the year.

Barcelona right back Daniel Alves became the first Brazilian to make four appearances with Messi being the only South American with more appearances.

Juventus midfielder Paul Pogba became only the third 22-year-old to get himself on the list behind Cristian Chivu(2002) and Gareth Bale(2011). Only Cesc Fabregas(19 in 2006) and 21-year-olds Cristiano Ronaldo(2004), Messi(2008) and (2013) have been younger nominees. 

Team of the Year
The Team of the Year (Courtesy:

UEFA Team of the Year 2015(4-3-3 formation)

Goalkeeper: Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich and Germany)


Defence: Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid and Spain), Daniel Alves (Barcelona and Brazil), Gerard Pique(Barcelona and Spain) and David Alaba (Bayern Munich and Austria)

Midfield: Paul Pogba (Juventus and France), Andres Iniesta (Barcelona and Spain) and James Rodriguez (Real Madrid and Columbia)

Forwards: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid and Portugal), Neymar (Barcelona and Brazil) and Lionel Messi (Barcelona and Argentina)

Topics you might be interested in:
Anuj Gowda
Fetching more content...