Asian Champions Trophy 2018: India hammer Japan 9-0 to register their third successive win 

India hammer Japan in Asian Champions Trophy 2018
India hammer Japan in Asian Champions Trophy 2018

Indian men’s hockey team continued their impressive run with a commanding 9-0 win over Japan to register their 3rd successive win of the Asian Champions Trophy, played at Muscat on Sunday. It was a dominating performance by the Indians who outplayed their opponents with attacking play.

The first quarter saw some brilliant hockey from the Indian team. In the 4th minute, a great reverse flick by Akashdeep Singh to Lalit Upadhyay gave India a 1-0 lead. India earned a penalty corner in the 8th minute and a brilliant shot drag flick by Harmanpreet Singh and rebound shot by Gurjant Singh gave India a 2-0 lead. At the end of the first quarter, India led 2-0.

India got off to a perfect start in the second quarter, earning a penalty corner. The Indians hit a shot and the umpire gave it a penalty stroke. Harmanpreet Singh scored the stroke in 17th minute to give India a 3-0 lead. India continued to attack the Japanese defence. In the 21st minute, Harmanpreet Singh's penalty corner shot gave India a commanding 4-0 lead.

In the third quarter also, the Indians continued their dominating performance. In the 36th minute, a brilliant field goal by Akashdeep Singh gave India a 5-0 lead. The Indians showed their aggressive skills and continued to put pressure on the Japanese defence. Kothajit Singh scored a brilliant field goal in the 42nd minute to give India a 6-0 lead. With the Indian team having 10 men, before the final bell, Lalit scored a brilliant field goal. At the end of the third quarter, India led 7-0.

The fourth quarter saw another solid performance by the Indian team. India earned their 5th penalty corner and a rebound shot hit by Mandeep Singh gave India an 8-0 lead. Japan earned their first penalty corner but could not do anything with that. In the 57th minute, a wonderful shot by Jarmanpreet Singh to Manpreet Singh, who gave it to Mandeep Singh, gave India a 9-0 scoreline. India won the match by a massive margin of 9-0.

With this win, India registered their third successive win of the tournament. They will take on Malaysia in their next match on 23rd October.

Quick Links

Edited by Sudeshna Banerjee
Be the first one to comment