Favorites Edit

India among six nations shortlisted for 2018 Hockey World Cup

Suhrid Barua
1.08K   //    19 Mar 2013, 16:40 IST

India hosted 2010 World Cup in New Delhi

The International Hockey Federation (FIH) has shortlisted six countries – Australia, Belgium, England, India, Malaysia and New Zealand –  for staging the 2018 Hockey World Cup.

The world governing body has received expressions of interest from these countries for the mega event.

Australia, New Zealand and Belgium are bidding for either the men’s or women’s 2018 World Cup, while India and Malaysia are bidding for the men’s 2010 World Cup. England are bidding for the women’s 2018 World Cup.

Among the shortlisted countries for the marquee event, Australia, England, India and Malaysia have previous experience of hosting the World Cup. It may be mentioned here that India had hosted the 2010 World Cup in New Delhi.

Only Belgium and New Zealand are new countries bidding for the World Cup. Both nations have successfully staged various international events in recent years. Belgium had hosted the 2012 Women’s Hockey Olympic Qualifiers, while New Zealand staged the 2011 Men’s Champions Trophy Tournament.

In a significant first, the 2018 Men’s and Women’s Hockey World Cups would feature sixteen teams competing in both categories given the growing popularity of the sport across the globe.

It may be pertinent to mention that the 2014 Men’s and Women’s Hockey World Cups would be held at the Kyocera Stadium at the Hague, Netherlands from May 31 to June 15. Twelve men’s and twelve women’s teams would compete in both the marquee tournaments.

All the six shortlisted countries would have to submit bids (with detailed event and bidding documentation) on or before August 31, 2013.

The International Hockey Federation (FIH) would announce the hosts, venues and dates of the Hockey World Cups 2018 on November 8, 2013.


Australia are the current men’s World Champions – they had pipped Germany 2-1 in the 2010 edition in New Delhi. The Netherlands had bagged the third spot.

Argentina are the current women’s World Champions – they had got the better of the Netherlands 3-1 in the 2010 edition held in Rosario, Argentina. England had claimed the third position.

Twelve men’s hockey Worlds Cups have been held so far. Pakistan have won the crown four times, while the Netherlands have won it thrice. Germany and Australia have won it twice, while India won the marquee tourney only once in 1975.

Similarly, twelve women’s hockey Worlds Cups have been held so far. The Netherlands have won it six times, while Argentina, Germany and Australia have bagged the crown twice.

Topics you might be interested in:
Suhrid Barua
I am a passionate sports journalist/blogger who is madly in love with cricket,football, hockey, boxing, wrestling, badminton, like to follow all sports
Fetching more content...