Australia Hockey


Nick NameThe Kookaburras

Prominent PlayersAran Zalewski


The Australia National Field Hockey team represents Australia in international field hockey competitions. The team has the nickname of “The Kookaburras” while the female counterparts are called “The Hockeyroos”. The national team is governed by the Hockey Australia and comes under the Oceania Hockey Federation (OHF). They are placed in the top spot in the FIH rankings with 1906 points, being closely trailed by Argentina in the second spot with 1883 points.

The Kookaburras have built up the reputation of being one of the most competitive teams in the game of hockey and are one of the most successful sport teams to represent the nation internationally. They have been placed in the top four in every Olympics between 1980 and 2012.


It is usually the British Army that is credited with the propagation of the sport throughout the world, however it was the British Navy that introduced the game ‘down under’. The British Naval officers stationed in Australia taught the locals the game and laid the foundations for a sport which the Australians have developed and mastered.

By the 1900s, the sport had become quite popular among the locals and was also being played in private girls’ schools. However, the first hockey association was not formed until 1903. South Australia became the first state to have a hockey association and was followed by Victoria and New South Wales who formed their respective associations in 1906.

The first international match played by the Australia national team was in 1922. Their first competition win was at the 1983 World Championships held in Karachi.

The current governing body Hockey Australia was formed in 2000, after the merger of the Australian Hockey Association and Women’s Hockey Australia.


Despite immense success at various major competitions, the Kookaburras had failed to land a single gold medal at the Summer Olympics. The ‘curse’ was finally broken in 2004 at the 2004 Athens Games.

Alongside that, the team has also won three World Cups, six Commonwealth Games gold medals and fifteen Champions Trophy titles.

2019 World Cup Squad

No.Pos.PlayerDate of birth (age)CapsGoalsClub
1MFTom Craig3 September 1995(age 23)9426Old Guildford
2DFCorey Weyer28 March 1996(age 23)353Curtin University HC
3DFJake Harvie5 March 1998(age 21)613Westside Wolves
4DFMatthew Dawson27 April 1994(age 25)12912Victoria Park
5FWJacob Anderson22 March 1997(age 22)168Old Guildford
6DFJoshua Beltz24 April 1995(age 24)393Hale
7MFEddie Ockenden3 April 1987(age 32)35570YMCA
8FWJacob Whetton15 June 1991(age 28)19464Victoria Park
9FWBlake Govers6 July 1996(age 23)9479Old Aquinians
10DFTim Howard23 June 1996(age 23)511Curtin University HC
11MFAran Zalewski21 March 1991(age 28)18023Old Aquinians
12MFFlynn Ogilvie17 September 1993(age 25)10021Fremantle
13MFDaniel Beale12 February 1993(age 26)16828Westside Wolves
14GKTyler Lovell23 May 1987(age 32)1400YMCA
15FWTrent Mitton26 November 1990(age 28)16875WASPS
16FWTimothy Brand29 November 1998(age 20)3113Melville City
17GKAndrew Charter30 March 1987(age 32)1750UWA
18DFJeremy Hayward3 March 1993(age 26)14662Old Aquinians
19GKJohan Durst18 March 1991(age 28)30Fremantle
20DFJoshua Simmonds4 October 1995(age 23)150North Coast Raiders
21DFMatthew Swann16 May 1989(age 30)1957WASPS
22MFLachlan Sharp2 July 1997(age 22)428Melville City
23MFJack Hayes30 March 1994(age 25)40North Coast Raiders
24FWTom Wickham26 May 1990(age 29)4519UWA
25FWAaron Kleinschmidt1 October 1989(age 29)6623UWA
26FWJack Welch26 October 1997(age 21)82Hale
27FWDylan Wotherspoon9 April 1993(age 26)8630Labrador

Head Coach: Colin Batch

Fetching more content...